Today is Thursday, April 17, 2014rss RSS feed

Concealed Carry on Campus Bill Now in the Texas Senate

Texas State Rifle Association

Texas State Rifle Association

Houston, Tx --(Ammoland.com)- Recently, Senator Jeff Wentworth (R-San Antonio) brought SB 354 to the Senate floor with a commitment from 21 fellow senators to vote to allow debate on his concealed carry on campus bill.

This is the same bill passed by mostly the same members of the Senate two years ago. Rules in the Texas Senate require 2/3 of those present to vote to consider a bill, and then the legislation can pass with a simple majority.

Two Senators — Eddie Lucio (D-Brownsville) and Mario Gallegos (D-Houston) — switched from “yes” to “no” votes as the bill was being laid out for consideration. Lacking the necessary 2/3 vote, Wentworth was forced to pull the bill down, and it has remained stalled in the Senate since.

Today, SB 5 by Senator Judith Zaffirini (D-Laredo) was brought to the Senate floor. SB 5 deals with the general business of a college campus. Six “friendly” amendments were offered to Senator Zaffirini’s bill, which she knew of in advance and accepted. Then Senator Wentworth offered a seventh amendment, one not cleared by Senator Zaffirini in advance — the language to SB 354, concealed carry on campus.

Senator Zaffirini used a parliamentary maneuver to pull down her bill, at least temporarily or until 11 a.m. tomorrow morning.

Please contact Texas Senators and urge them to vote for Senator Wentworth’s amendment to SB 5 by Zaffirini. See list below and not those where were co-authors on the original bill. Call everyone but thank those who are co-authors.

Please also call Lt. Governor David Dewhurst at 512-463-0001 and urge him to help legalize the right to personal protection for Concealed Handgun Licensees at Texas colleges and universities. This may be our best chance to gain a lawful self-defense option for CHLs at Texas institutions of higher education.

Senate Email Addresses and Phone Numbers

Note:
* indicates co-author on original SB 354. We need them to support the amendment!

  • *Senator Brian Birdwell (R-Granbury) (Co-author)
    brian.birdwell@senate.state.tx.us
    512-463-0122
  • *Senator John Carona (R-Dallas) (Co-author)
    john.carona@senate.state.tx.us
    512-463-0116
  • Senator Wendy Davis (D-Fort Worth)
    wendy.davis@senate.state.tx.us
    512-463-0110
  • *Senator Robert Deuell (R-Greenville) (Co-author)
    bob.deuell@senate.state.tx.us
    512-463-0102
  • Senator Robert Duncan (R-Lubbock)
    robert.duncan@senate.state.tx.us
    512-463-0128
  • Senator Rodney Ellis (D-Houston)
    rodney.ellis@senate.state.tx.us
    512-463-0113
  • *Senator Kevin Eltife (R-Tyler) (Co-author)
    kevin.eltife@senate.state.tx.us
    512-463-0101
  • *Senator Craig Estes (R-Wichita Falls) (Co-author)
    craig.estes@senate.state.tx.us
    512-463-0130
  • *Senator Troy Fraser (R-Horseshoe Bay) (Co-author)
    troy.fraser@senate.state.tx.us
    512-463-0124
  • Senator Mario Gallegos, Jr. (D-Houston)
    mario.gallegos@senate.state.tx.us
    512-463-0106
  • *Senator Chris Harris (R-Arlington) (Co-author)
    chris.harris@senate.state.tx.us
    512-463-0109
  • *Senator Glenn Hegar, Jr. (R-Katy) (Co-author)
    glenn.hegar@senate.state.tx.us
    512-463-0118
  • Senator Juan “Chuy” Hinojosa (D-McAllen)
    juan.hinojosa@senate.state.tx.us
    512-463-0120
  • Senator Joan Huffman (R-Southside Place)
    joan.huffman@senate.state.tx.us
    512-463-0117
  • *Senator Mike Jackson (R-La Porte) (Co-author)
    mike.jackson@senate.state.tx.us
    512-463-0111
  • Senator Eddie Lucio, Jr. (D-Brownsville)
    eddie.lucio@senate.state.tx.us
    512-463-0127
  • *Senator Jane Nelson (R-Flower Mound) (Co-author)
    jane.nelson@senate.state.tx.us
    512-463-0112
  • Senator Robert Nichols (R-Jacksonville)
    robert.nichols@senate.state.tx.us
    512-463-0103
  • Senator Steve Ogden (R-Bryan)
    steve.ogden@senate.state.tx.us
    512-463-0105

More State Senators.

  • *Senator Dan Patrick (R-Houston)(Co-author)
    dan.patrick@senate.state.tx.us
    512-463-0107
  • Senator Jose Rodriguez (D-El Paso)
    jose.rodriguez@senate.state.tx.us
    512-463-0129
  • *Senator Kel Seliger (R-Amarillo) (Co-author)
    kel.seliger@senate.state.tx.us
    512-463-0131
  • Senator Florence Shapiro (R-Plano)
    florence.shapiro@senate.state.tx.us
    512-463-0108
  • Senator Carlos Uresti (D-San Antonio)
    carlos.uresti@senate.state.tx.us
    512-463-0119
  • Senator Leticia Van de Putte (D-San Antonio)
    leticia.vandeputte@senate.state.tx.us
    512-463-0126
  • Senator Kirk Watson (D-Austin)
    kirk.watson@senate.state.tx.us
    512-463-0114
  • **Senator Jeff Wentworth (R-San Antonio)
    Author of the Amendment to SB 5
    jeff.wentworth@senate.state.tx.us
    512-463-0125
  • Senator Royce West (D-Dallas)
    royce.west@senate.state.tx.us
    512-463-0123
  • Senator John Whitmire (D-Houston)
    john.whitmire@senate.state.tx.us
    512-463-0115
  • *Senator Tommy Williams (R-The Woodlands) (Co-author)
    tommy.williams@senate.state.tx.us
    512-463-0104
  • Senator Judith Zaffirini (D-Laredo)
    judith.zaffirini@senate.state.tx.us
    512-463-0121

Remember the vote could come as early as tomorrow and we really need your help now.

Keep working and keep the faith,

Sincerely,
Alice Tripp
Texas State Rifle Association

About:
The Mission of the Texas State Rifle Association is to protect and defend the inalienable rights of the individual Texan to acquire, possess, transport, carry, transfer ownership and enjoy the right to lawful use of firearms for self preservation, for the defense of family and property and the common defense of the Republic and the individual liberties of the people. Visit: www.TSRA.com

Ammoland Click to read AmmoLand FTC Marital Disclosures Distributed to you by - AmmoLand.com – The Shooting Sports News source.
  • One User comment to “Concealed Carry on Campus Bill Now in the Texas Senate”

    1. Someothername on April 28, 2011 at 6:15 PM said:

      Good this will save money

      LOWER SCHOOL INSURANCE RATES BY PASSING CAMPUS CARRY

      if the school can’t be held liable for damages, that’s ZERO RISK as opposed to currently they CAN be sued if someone steals a gun from my car and uses it … so Insurance should decrease if this bill is passed

      a) A court may not hold the state, …liable for damages ..

      (b) A cause of action in damages may not be brought against

      1) Guns ARE already allowed ON CAMPUS, JUST NOT IN BUILDINGS, secured and concealed like they are everywhere else in private businesses whose rates did NOT increase for “failing” to post a 30.06 sign.

      2) The bills provide IMMUNITY for campuses , which they currently DO NOT HAVE even though guns are already allowed on campus.

      SINCE guns are already on campus and since they’d have a new IMMUNITY from liability, the risk of suits decreases as would insurance premiums.

      Insurance is a risk-based business.

      Less risk = less premium.

      Guns are already on campus, stored in cars for burglars to get, no increased risk, actually, decreased risk if carried safe and secure and concealed than if stored in cars for burglars..

      Immunity from lawsuits = less risk

      Less risk = less premium.

      —————————
      Amendment 7 (guns on campus) is Germane to SB 5 because:
      Lowered Insurance premiums relates to the …. you guessed it
      “administration and business affairs of public institutions of higher education”

    Leave a Comment

    • Sign up Ammoland for your Inbox

      Daily Digest

      Monthly Newsletter

    • Recent Comments

      • jeff martin: Once again the “supreme court” got it wrong!! Whether we like it or not, The Second...
      • Rocco Wlodarek: I GOT THERE LATE, BUT WITH ENOUGH TIME TO SHUT DOWN HER MDA PLANT. At the meeting on the 22nd…....
      • David Pilcher: Hey Guys Good job on your TV show! I’m totally in sync with what you ya’all are...
      • Stu Chisholm: Jefferson’s vews on religion are well documented and irrefutable. As the author of the...
      • Heidi: One hundred elephants are murdered everyday for their tusks. And, yes, this does matter for...
    • maximum
      Login with Facebook: Log In
      Powered by Sociable!
    • Facebook Activity

    • Google+ Direct Connect

    Copyright 2014 AmmoLand.com Shooting Sports News | Sitemap | Μολὼν λαβέ

    Sign up for the Ammoland Daily Digest

    * indicates required
    Daily Digest is a daily recap of Firearms industry news, 2nd Amendment politics , and product articles delivered to the inbox. Stay informed to keep your Individual Right to Keep and Bear Arms.
    Yes, I want the Monthly email newsletter subscription to Ammoland so I can get a single newsletter once a month on the hot new products from the Firearms Industry!
    8848568
    9406360