Today is Friday, July 25, 2014rss RSS feed
Silent Hunting Rifle

Georgia Suppressor Hunting Bill Needs Your Support

American Silencer Association

American Silencer Association

Oklahoma --(Ammoland.com)-ATLANTA, GA —-(Ammoland.com)- Last week, the Georgia State Senate took a major step forward on critical suppressor hunting legislation when it voted to pass Senate Bill 93 by a 43-10 vote. Sponsored by Senator Bill Heath (R-31), SB 93 received overwhelming bipartisan support.

The bill seeks to repeal the prohibition on the use of legally possessed suppressors while hunting in Georgia.

The primary role of a suppressor is to reduce the overall sound signature of the host firearm to hearing safe levels. They do so by trapping the expanding gasses at the muzzle and allowing them to slowly cool, in a similar fashion to car mufflers.

Their muffling capabilities intrinsically make them a hearing protection device for both the shooter and those around them.

Following the vote, the bill was assigned to the Game, Fish, and Parks Committee in the Georgia House of Representatives. This marks the third year that a suppressor hunting bill has been assigned to this committee. Chaired by Rep. Jon Burns (R-Newington), the committee has thus far failed to let a suppressor hunting bill out of committee.

Georgia is currently one of only eight states that permits the ownership of suppressors, but not their use by hunters in any capacity. For a full map, visit the ASA’s website.

SB 93 needs your support to continue to move forward.

Please contact members of the House Game, Fish, and Parks Committee TODAY and urge them to support the legalization of suppressor use for hunters in Georgia. Contact information can be found below:

GEORGIA HOUSE GAME, FISH, AND PARKS COMMITTEE
Chairman Jon Burns (R-Newington), Chairman: jon.burns@house.ga.gov
Rep. Stephen Allison (R-Blairsville), Vice Chairman: stephen.allison@house.ga.gov
Rep. Jimmy Pruett (R-Eastman), Secretary: jimmy.pruett@house.ga.gov
Rep. Sharon Beasley-Teague (D-Red Oak): sharon.beasley-teague@house.ga.gov
Rep. Roger Bruce (D-Atlanta): rbruce5347@aol.com
Rep. Pam Dickerson (D-Conyers): pam.dickerson@house.ga.gov
Rep. Emory Dunahoo (R-Gainesville): emory.dunahoo@house.ga.gov
Rep. Earl Ehrhart (R-Powder Springs): earl@ehrhart.4emm.com
Rep. David Knight (R-Griffin): david.knight@house.ga.gov
Rep. Tom McCall (R-Elberton): tommccall@bellsouth.net
Rep. John Meadows (R-Calhoun): john.meadows@house.ga.gov
Rep. Jay Roberts (R-Ocilla): jay.roberts@house.ga.gov
Rep. Jason Shaw (R-Lakeland): jason.shaw@house.ga.gov
Rep. Jason Spencer (R-Woodbine): jason.spencer@house.ga.gov
Rep. Al Williams (D-Midway): al.williams@house.ga.gov

 

About the American Silencer Association

The American Silencer Association (ASA) is a registered 501(c)(6) non-profit trade association. Our mission is to identify and advocate for the common interests of the suppressor industry. To accomplish our mission, our principal initiatives focus on public education, and state and federal lobbying.

The ASA is a sponsorship and membership driven organization. For more information on how you can help protect and expand your right to own and use suppressors, please visit www.AmericanSilencerAssociation.com.

Silencer Ownership Map

Silencer Ownership Map

Ammoland Click to read AmmoLand FTC Marital Disclosures Distributed to you by - AmmoLand.com – The Shooting Sports News source.
  • One User comment to “Georgia Suppressor Hunting Bill Needs Your Support”

    1. A suppressor is legal in the State of Texas, but must abide by all feral (BATF) requirements, which include a $200 fee and much paperwork. As a hearing disabled Vietnam Vet, I haven’t fired a weapon in a very long time, years, and it would be nice to be able to hunt or range with the suppressor in order to save what remains of my hearing.

      Good job, Georgia, do the right thing.

    Leave a Comment

    • Sign up Ammoland for your Inbox

      Daily Digest

      Monthly Newsletter

    • Recent Comments

      • Frank: I recently purchased a Magnum Research 1911 Undercover and have read several reviews and no one has mentioned...
      • Anonymous: I can’t believe he was spouting conservative ideals and he does nothing about this. His shameful...
      • Eric: Permits are for states that violate your right to bear arms and defend yourself. Dont be misled that permits...
      • Johnb206: Hey there, You have done a great job. I’ll definitely digg it and personally recommend.
      • Paul Dadas: I would love my first sporting rifle to be a DDM4v9!
    • Social Activity

    • Most Popular Posts

    • Google+ Direct Connect

    Copyright 2014 AmmoLand.com Shooting Sports News | Sitemap | Μολὼν λαβέ

    Win a Daniel Defense DDM4v9 Rifle

    Subscribe and receive our emails , the drawing will be August 15, 2014 maybe you will be the lucky shooter receiving a Daniel Defense DDM4v9 Rifle. For more information visit the Daniel Defense promotional page.
    Monthly email subscription from Ammoland
    13408960
    13974560