Today is Tuesday, September 23, 2014rss RSS feed
Hunting with Suppressors

Hunting or Shooting with Suppressors increases Hearing Safety

NRA-ILA

NRA – ILA

Charlotte, NC --(Ammoland.com)- Last week, on the heels of powerful grassroots support, the Iowa House of Representatives passed legislation to legalize suppressor ownership and use, House File 2381, with overwhelming bipartisan support.

HF 2381 has been assigned to the Senate Judiciary Committee, chaired by Senator Robert Hogg (D-33), and at this time has not been assigned to a subcommittee.  Last year, Senator Hogg refused to give a fair hearing to another bill which received strong bipartisan (95-3) support in the House: NRA-backed House File 535.

Now, Senator Hogg has stated publicly that he does not plan to take up any firearms legislation this year, even going so far as to declare that he does not see anything urgent about this legislation, and according to this article, to challenge Iowans to make it a campaign issue.

The Iowa Senate has consistently failed to pass even the most strongly supported pro-gun legislation in recent years.  Your NRA-ILA has been diligently working with members on both sides of the aisle to change this.  However, it appears that the Senate is set to repeat this cycle.

To the NRA, this is simply an unacceptable attitude for your elected officials to take when it concerns your rights and freedoms, on any scale.  Your rights deserve a fair hearing and now is the time for you to demand one. 

Contact Senator Hogg and members of the Senate Judiciary Committee IMMEDIATELY to express your support for HF 2381 and request a fair hearing for it.  

Senate Judiciary Committee:

Senator Robert Hogg (D-33), Chairman
rob.hogg@legis.iowa.gov

Senator Thomas G. Courtney (D-44), Vice Chairman
thomas.courtney@legis.iowa.gov

Senator Charles Schneider (R-22), Ranking Member
charles.schneider@legis.iowa.gov

Senator Nancy J. Boettger (R-9)
nancy.boettger@legis.iowa.gov

Senator Robert E. Dvorsky (D-37)
robert.dvorsky@legis.iowa.gov

Senator Julian B. Garrett (R-13)
julian.garrett@legis.iowa.gov

Senator Wally E. Horn (D-35)
wally.horn@legis.iowa.gov

Senator Janet Petersen (D-18)
janet.petersen@legis.iowa.gov

Senator Herman C. Quirmbach (D-23)
herman.quirmbach@legis.iowa.gov

Senator Steven J. Sodders (D-36)
steve.sodders@legis.iowa.gov

Senator Rich Taylor (D-42)
rich.taylor@legis.iowa.gov

Senator Jack Whitver (R-19)
jack.whitver@legis.iowa.gov

Senator Brad Zaun (R-20)
brad.zaun@legis.iowa.gov

About:
Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the “lobbying” arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution. Visit: www.nra.org

  • One User comment to “Iowa: Senate Committee Chairman Refusing to Hear Suppressor Legislation”

    1. Hogg needs to be voted out of office. He’s nothing but a gun hating liberal idiot pisswit. I hope they do make it a campaign issue.

    Leave a Comment

    • Sign up Ammoland for your Inbox

      Daily Digest

      Monthly Newsletter

    • Recent Comments

      • JOHN PANCARI: Does the LCRX come in 9mm with a three-finger grip?
      • jeanne b. barton: Please include me in this on line course. With knowledge comes wisdom. I seek both! Thank you, from...
      • Helen Allen: Even more reason, every Liberal Democrat gets kicked out of Washington for good. We the People have a...
      • theshadow: Hey – these morons pointed me to a decent ammo site or two. I usually look only at another site.
      • cellblock776: Not on the list but worth a look is Louisiana Open Carry Awareness League (LOCAL) at...
    • Social Activity

    • Most Popular Posts

      • AmmoLand Poll

      Copyright 2014 AmmoLand.com Shooting Sports News | Sitemap | Μολὼν λαβέ
      12180584
      12773952