Today is Friday, July 25, 2014rss RSS feed

Louisiana: House Committee Scheduled to Hear Bill to Repeal Self-Defense Law this Wednesday.

NRA-ILA

NRA – ILA

Charlotte, NC --(Ammoland.com)-  This Wednesday, April 23 2014, the House Administration of Criminal Justice Committee will consider House Bill 826.

Sponsored by state Representative Wesley Bishop (D-New Orleans), NRA-opposed HB 826 would repeal Louisiana’s “stand your ground” statute and tip the scales in favor of criminals who attack law-abiding citizens in public.  Make no mistake, this is a direct assault on your right to self-defense outside of your home, vehicle or place of business.

Under current law, a person who is engaged in a lawful activity and who is in a place where he or she has a right to be, does not have a duty to retreat from a violent attack.  He or she may meet force with force, including deadly force — but only if he or she reasonably believes it is necessary to prevent death or great bodily harm.

Don’t let anti-gun state lawmakers put forward misinformation and strip away your self-defense rights – here’s what you can do to help defeat HB 826:

Attend Wednesday’s hearing at 9:30 a.m. in Committee Room 6 of the State Capitol.  Upon arrival at the committee room, you will want to complete and sign a RED card against HB 826.  You may indicate on the card whether you wish to speak or simply register your opposition to this measure.

Using the contact information provided below, please call AND e-mail members of the House Administration of Criminal Justice Committee and politely urge them to OPPOSE HB 826.  Additionally, messages can be left for all state Representatives at the state Capitol during the week by calling (225) 342-6945.

 

House Administration of Criminal Justice Committee:

Rep. Joe Lopinto (R-Metairie), Chairman
504-838-5430
Lopintoj@legis.la.gov

Rep. Helena Moreno (D-New Orleans), Vice-Chairman
504-568-2740
Morenoh@legis.la.gov

Rep. Bryan Adams (R-Gretna)
504-361-6013
Adamsb@legis.la.gov

Rep. Austin Badon (D-New Orleans)
504-243-7783
Larep100@legis.la.gov

Rep. Terry Brown (I-Colfax)
855-261-6566
Browntr@legis.la.gov

Rep. Roy Burrell (D-Shreveport)
318-676-7137
Larep002@legis.la.gov

Rep. Mickey Guillory (D-Eunice)
337-457-0194
Larep041@legis.la.gov

Rep. Chris Hazel (R-Pineville)
318-767-6082
Hazelc@legis.la.gov

Rep. Valarie Hodges (R-Denham Springs)
225-791-2199
Hodgesv@legis.la.gov

Rep. Dalton Honore (D-Baton Rouge)
225-771-5674
Honored@legis.la.gov

Rep. Frank Howard (R-Many)
318-256-4135
Howardf@legis.la.gov

Rep. Terry Landry (D-New Iberia)
337-373-9380
Landryt@legis.la.gov

Rep. Sherman Mack (R-Livingston)
225-686-3887
Macks@legis.la.gov

Rep. Barbara Norton (D-Shreveport)
318-632-5887
Nortonb@legis.la.gov

Rep. Steven Pylant (R-Winnsboro)
318-435-7313
Pylants@legis.la.gov

Rep. Ebony Woodruff (D-Harvey)
504-361-6972
Woodruffe@legis.la.gov

About:
Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the “lobbying” arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution. Visit: www.nra.org

Ammoland Click to read AmmoLand FTC Marital Disclosures Distributed to you by - AmmoLand.com – The Shooting Sports News source.
  • Leave a Comment

    • Sign up Ammoland for your Inbox

      Daily Digest

      Monthly Newsletter

    • Recent Comments

      • Dr. Strangelove: Why are the guys in the picture carrying clubs?
      • Herb: Just a guess – I would guess they don’t tell you how to reload without powder.
      • PB: I hope for the residents of Michigan, that the outcome of the plan hasn’t already been determined, and that...
      • Frank: I recently purchased a Magnum Research 1911 Undercover and have read several reviews and no one has mentioned...
      • Anonymous: I can’t believe he was spouting conservative ideals and he does nothing about this. His shameful...
    • Social Activity

    • Most Popular Posts

    • Google+ Direct Connect

    Copyright 2014 AmmoLand.com Shooting Sports News | Sitemap | Μολὼν λαβέ

    Win a Daniel Defense DDM4v9 Rifle

    Subscribe and receive our emails , the drawing will be August 15, 2014 maybe you will be the lucky shooter receiving a Daniel Defense DDM4v9 Rifle. For more information visit the Daniel Defense promotional page.
    Monthly email subscription from Ammoland
    13403280
    13962048