Today is Tuesday, October 21, 2014rss RSS feed

Louisiana: House Committee Scheduled to Hear Bill to Repeal Self-Defense Law this Wednesday.

NRA-ILA

NRA – ILA

Charlotte, NC --(Ammoland.com)-  This Wednesday, April 23 2014, the House Administration of Criminal Justice Committee will consider House Bill 826.

Sponsored by state Representative Wesley Bishop (D-New Orleans), NRA-opposed HB 826 would repeal Louisiana’s “stand your ground” statute and tip the scales in favor of criminals who attack law-abiding citizens in public.  Make no mistake, this is a direct assault on your right to self-defense outside of your home, vehicle or place of business.

Under current law, a person who is engaged in a lawful activity and who is in a place where he or she has a right to be, does not have a duty to retreat from a violent attack.  He or she may meet force with force, including deadly force — but only if he or she reasonably believes it is necessary to prevent death or great bodily harm.

Don’t let anti-gun state lawmakers put forward misinformation and strip away your self-defense rights – here’s what you can do to help defeat HB 826:

Attend Wednesday’s hearing at 9:30 a.m. in Committee Room 6 of the State Capitol.  Upon arrival at the committee room, you will want to complete and sign a RED card against HB 826.  You may indicate on the card whether you wish to speak or simply register your opposition to this measure.

Using the contact information provided below, please call AND e-mail members of the House Administration of Criminal Justice Committee and politely urge them to OPPOSE HB 826.  Additionally, messages can be left for all state Representatives at the state Capitol during the week by calling (225) 342-6945.

 

House Administration of Criminal Justice Committee:

Rep. Joe Lopinto (R-Metairie), Chairman
504-838-5430
Lopintoj@legis.la.gov

Rep. Helena Moreno (D-New Orleans), Vice-Chairman
504-568-2740
Morenoh@legis.la.gov

Rep. Bryan Adams (R-Gretna)
504-361-6013
Adamsb@legis.la.gov

Rep. Austin Badon (D-New Orleans)
504-243-7783
Larep100@legis.la.gov

Rep. Terry Brown (I-Colfax)
855-261-6566
Browntr@legis.la.gov

Rep. Roy Burrell (D-Shreveport)
318-676-7137
Larep002@legis.la.gov

Rep. Mickey Guillory (D-Eunice)
337-457-0194
Larep041@legis.la.gov

Rep. Chris Hazel (R-Pineville)
318-767-6082
Hazelc@legis.la.gov

Rep. Valarie Hodges (R-Denham Springs)
225-791-2199
Hodgesv@legis.la.gov

Rep. Dalton Honore (D-Baton Rouge)
225-771-5674
Honored@legis.la.gov

Rep. Frank Howard (R-Many)
318-256-4135
Howardf@legis.la.gov

Rep. Terry Landry (D-New Iberia)
337-373-9380
Landryt@legis.la.gov

Rep. Sherman Mack (R-Livingston)
225-686-3887
Macks@legis.la.gov

Rep. Barbara Norton (D-Shreveport)
318-632-5887
Nortonb@legis.la.gov

Rep. Steven Pylant (R-Winnsboro)
318-435-7313
Pylants@legis.la.gov

Rep. Ebony Woodruff (D-Harvey)
504-361-6972
Woodruffe@legis.la.gov

About:
Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the “lobbying” arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution. Visit: www.nra.org

  • Leave a Comment

    • Sign up Ammoland for your Inbox

      Daily Digest

      Monthly Newsletter

    • Recent Comments

      • Chris Rakes: you people are really showing your ignorance by referring Democrats as “Democratic”. there...
      • Paul: Gee he stepped in the way of a shot and was hit instead of the wolf, AT least that is what the report should...
      • Charles Goff: I have taught people who have never held a gun how to shoot and gun safety for years. My toughest sell,...
      • Richard L Jones: Isn’t an “Assault Weapon” a Baseball Bat,,,??
      • Sharon Starr: Great job everyone!!!!! A truly amazing event.
    • Social Activity

    • Most Popular Posts

      • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
    Copyright 2014 AmmoLand.com Shooting Sports News | Sitemap | Μολὼν λαβέ

    Win a Russian Sniper Rifle From AimSurplus.com

    Subscribe and receive our emails , the drawing will be November 20 , 2014 maybe you will be the lucky shooter receiving a Russian 1891/30 PU 7.62x54R Mosin Nagant Sniper Rifle and a can of Ammunition. For more information visit the AimSurplus Sniper Rifle Promotion Page.
    Monthly email subscription from Ammoland
    14499512
    15092240