Today is Tuesday, October 21, 2014rss RSS feed
Grass Roots North Carolina

Grass Roots North Carolina

North Carolina --(Ammoland.com)- Yesterday’s alert shone light on Senate Bill 594, “Omnibus Justice Amendments,” which contains a provision that would increase the penalties for unpermitted citizens (who are not in possession of a valid Concealed Handgun Permit) convicted of carrying a concealed handgun.

Some astute readers noted that we incorrectly attributed this legislation to lawful concealed handgun permittees, and for that mistake we apologize.

The amendments to Senate Bill 594 are objectionable to all gun owners because they (increasingly) criminalize the otherwise lawful carrying of a firearm on bureaucratic technicalities. Entrenched in this legislation is the idea that law-abiding gun owners need to beg their local sheriff for permission to carry a concealed firearm. Not exactly in the spirit of “shall not be infringed,” in our opinion.

Anyone ineligible to possess a firearm would still be breaking the law (regardless of whether they were concealing it or not) if they were caught in possession of a handgun—concealed or otherwise. Anyone using a firearm in the commission of a crime would still be charged with far more serious offenses. Senate Bill 594 does nothing to deal with the real criminals that our legislators need to focus on, and instead focuses on citizens that simply haven’t jumped through the state’s bureaucratic hoops.

Grass Roots North Carolina is the hardest working gun rights organization in North Carolina (some would argue in the country!), and we had only minutes to mobilize volunteers to go down to the legislature and to compose the alert after we discovered this amendment that was snuck in. We always do our best to communicate timely and accurate information, and we want our members to rest assured that we have law-abiding gun owners’ best interests at heart.

We’re not perfect, but we always do our best and we never sell out to the highest bidder. The same cannot be said of our opponents.

In that spirit, we ask that you contact Senate Republicans and insist that they NOT concur with the house version of this bill.

IMMEDIATE ACTION REQUIRED!

Contact North Carolina’s Republican Senators using the email list below and insist that they NOT concur with the house version of this bill. Remind them that you will REMEMBER IN NOVEMBER.
Austin.Allran@ncleg.net; Tom.Apodaca@ncleg.net; Chad.Barefoot@ncleg.net; Tamara.Barringer@ncleg.net; Phil.Berger@ncleg.net; Stan.Bingham@ncleg.net; Andrew.Brock@ncleg.net; Harry.Brown@ncleg.net; Bill.Cook@ncleg.net; David.Curtis@ncleg.net; Warren.Daniel@ncleg.net; Jim.Davis@ncleg.net; Thom.Goolsby@ncleg.net; Rick.Gunn@ncleg.net; Kathy.Harrington@ncleg.net; Fletcher.Hartsell@ncleg.net; Ralph.Hise@ncleg.net; Neal.Hunt@ncleg.net; Brent.Jackson@ncleg.net; Joyce.Krawiec@ncleg.net; Wesley.Meredith@ncleg.net; Buck.Newton@ncleg.net; Louis.Pate@ncleg.net; Ron.Rabin@ncleg.net; Bill.Rabon@ncleg.net; Shirley.Randleman@ncleg.net; Bob.Rucho@ncleg.net; Norman.Sanderson@ncleg.net; Dan.Soucek@ncleg.net; Jeff.Tarte@ncleg.net; Jerry.Tillman@ncleg.net; Tommy.Tucker@ncleg.net; Trudy.Wade@ncleg.net;

DELIVER THIS MESSAGE

Suggested Subject: “Do Not Concur With Senate Bill 594!”

Dear Senator:

I am outraged that the House failed to pass the Pittman Amendment to SB 594, “Omnibus Justice Amendments” which would have kept the penalties for carrying a concealed handgun without the requisite permit as they are now. Raising these penalties will do nothing to thwart gang violence and crime in North Carolina; all this will do is escalate the penalties for people who haven’t jumped through the bureaucratic hoops correctly.

I insist that you NOT concur with the house version of Senate Bill 594.

I will monitor the progress of this amendment through Grass Roots North Carolina alerts.

Sincerely,

 

Additional Skills Needed for the GRNC Alert Team:

A person is needed to expand the GRNC alert team. Good writing skills is a must along with the ability to coordinate with personnel at various levels. Knowledge of HTML and ability to manipulate HTML style emails on the code level. Strong understanding of desktop publishing concepts and Microsoft Office tools. Person should be able to translate legal, political, technical and firearms jargon into layman’s terms and make the public care about the issue. Familiarity of a mass emailing system like Constant Contact is a nice to have.

If interested, please contact GRNC via the following e-mail address: alert@grnc.org

About: Grass Roots North Carolina is an all-volunteer organization dedicated to preserving the freedoms guaranteed us by the Bill of Rights. Our main focus is the right to keep and bear arms. GRNC was central to drafting and passing North Carolina’s concealed handgun law and since that time has continued to push for improvements to gun laws. Visit:www.grnc.org

  • 2 User comments to “Will North Carolina State Senate Republicans Sell Out Gun Owners Too?”

    1. Janek on July 2, 2014 at 1:52 PM said:

      Establishment Republicans are selling out the ‘Tea Party’, so you can expect them to sell out gun owners too!

    2. Two questions I’d ask the legislators:

      Is a rapist who uses a knife or fists somehow better than a rapist who uses a gun? If not, why are they punished less?

      Who is victimized by the simple act of carrying a concealed firearm, and how are they victimized?

    Leave a Comment

    • Sign up Ammoland for your Inbox

      Daily Digest

      Monthly Newsletter

    • Recent Comments

      • Chris Rakes: you people are really showing your ignorance by referring Democrats as “Democratic”. there...
      • Paul: Gee he stepped in the way of a shot and was hit instead of the wolf, AT least that is what the report should...
      • Charles Goff: I have taught people who have never held a gun how to shoot and gun safety for years. My toughest sell,...
      • Richard L Jones: Isn’t an “Assault Weapon” a Baseball Bat,,,??
      • Sharon Starr: Great job everyone!!!!! A truly amazing event.
    • Social Activity

    • Most Popular Posts

      • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
    Copyright 2014 AmmoLand.com Shooting Sports News | Sitemap | Μολὼν λαβέ

    Win a Russian Sniper Rifle From AimSurplus.com

    Subscribe and receive our emails , the drawing will be November 20 , 2014 maybe you will be the lucky shooter receiving a Russian 1891/30 PU 7.62x54R Mosin Nagant Sniper Rifle and a can of Ammunition. For more information visit the AimSurplus Sniper Rifle Promotion Page.
    Monthly email subscription from Ammoland
    14390704
    14999448