NRA Magazines Announce 2009 Golden Award Winners

NRA Magazines Announce 2009 Golden Award Winners
2009 Golden Bullseye Award And Golden Bullseye Pioneer Award Winners.

NRA Magazines
NRA Magazines

Fairfax, Virginia – NRA Publications will present its annual Golden Bullseye Awards and Golden Bullseye Pioneer Award at an invitation-only reception during the 2009 NRA Annual Meetings & Exhibits, May 15-17, in Phoenix, Arizona.

“The Golden Bullseye Award honors our winners for bringing to market products remarkable in their utility to shooters and hunters,” said Joe H. Graham, Executive Director of NRA Publications. “The award, now in its seventh year, has become a symbol of excellence and innovation in firearms, accessories and related equipment. We are confident shooters and hunters will receive this year’s winning products with enthusiasm, and we congratulate the winners.”

The Golden Bullseye Pioneer Award specifically honors outstanding personal achievement.  “The award spotlights the exemplary achievement and cumulative body of work of an individual, members of a team or partnership, or family who were responsible for the development and introduction of shooting equipment that has made a profound, positive and enduring impact on the way Americans shoot and hunt,” said Joe Graham. “This year’s winners are legend in our industry.”

The 2009 Golden Bullseye Award winners are:

For American Rifleman, NRA’s 123-year-old flagship publication:  Rifle of the Year, Browning X-Bolt; Shotgun of the Year, FNH USA SLP; Handgun of the Year, Springfield XD(M); Tactical Gun of the Year, SIG Sauer P250; Ammunition Product of the Year, .327 Federal Magnum; Optic of the Year, Aimpoint Micro H-1 Sight; and Accessory of the Year, Champion DuraSeal Spinner Targets.

For American Hunter, the world’s largest all-hunting magazine:  Rifle of the Year, Remington R-15 VTR Predator; Shotgun of the Year, Beretta SV10 Perennia; Ammunition Product of the Year, Hornady .300 and .338 Ruger Compact Magnums; Gear of the Year, Revision Sawfly Eyewear System; Vehicle of the Year, Kawasaki Brute Force 750 4X4.

For Shooting Illustrated, NRA’s newsstand monthly:  Rifle of the Year, Microtech Small Arms Research STG-556; Shotgun of the Year, Mossberg 930 SPX; Handgun of the Year, SIG Sauer P250; Ammunition Product of the Year, Hornady .450 Bushmaster; Optic of the Year, Burris SpeedBead; Accessory of the Year, LaserLyte Sub-Compact Version 2.

The winners of the 2009 Golden Bullseye Pioneer Award are Robert E. and J.B. Hodgdon, officers of Hodgdon Powder Company, a firm well known to reloaders and firearm industry professionals. For nearly six decades the Hodgdon brothers have worked in the company founded by their father, Bruce E. Hodgdon. Today Hodgdon meets the needs of shooters, reloaders and hunters around the world with an extensive array of smokeless and blackpowder substitute propellants, and the company continues to bring innovative new products to market.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments