2009 U.S. Army Junior Open Air Rifle Postal Phase Complete

2009 U.S. Army Junior Open Air Rifle Postal Phase Complete
Written by Dana Bacak-Lynd, CMP Program Manager.

Junior Air Rifle Championship
Junior Air Rifle Championship

Fort Benning, GA – -(AmmoLand.com)-The competitor field is set for the 2009 U.S. Army Open Air Rifle Championship. Over 1,121 shooters sent in targets to the CMP for the Postal stage of the competition, this stage determined the State Champions who then advance to the U.S. Army Open Air Rifle Nationals that will be held at Fort Benning, GA 14-16 May.

The competition was open to school age teams and individuals. To qualify for the Nationals, these competitors had to fire in the Postal State Championship phase, which was held from January 1, 2009 – March 13, 2009. Once the final targets were scored; the 10 individuals and the 10 highest qualifying sporter and precision teams advance to the Third Annual U.S. Army Nationals, which is sponsored by the Army Marksmanship Unit.

The competition will begin with a full-day clinic for the shooters and coaches with members of the Army’s elite International Rifle Team, followed by two days of competition and an awards banquet. Scores from the event can be followed live on the CMP website at www.odcmp.com, so make sure to log on once competition begins on 15 May.

Gold, silver and bronze medals were awarded during the Postal State Championship phase. For postal phase results, visit website .

Congratulations to all the advancing teams and individuals listed below who qualified for the 2009 U.S. Army Junior Open Air Rifle Championships. For more information about the Championship, please visit the CMP website .

Sporter Teams
Pharr-San Juan – Alamo High School, TX – Returning Champions
West Ashley High School, SC – 1096-32
RL Paschal High School, TX – 1078-27
Clearfield High School, UT – 1071-38
Grissom High School, AL – 1066-23
St. Thomas Academy, MN – 1066-20
Gallatin Valley Sharpshooters, MT – 1063-24
Homestead 4H Shooting Club, NE – 1061-24
Western Reserve Academy, OH – 1060-30
Zion-Benton High School, IL – 1060-23
Bogalusa High School, LA – 1050-26
King George High School, VA – 1048-23

Precision Teams
Ridgeway Rifle Club, PA – 1530-88
Fort Benning Jr Rifle Club, GA – 1525-80
Borealis Shooting Club, AK – 1511-22
Ashland Eagles, OH – 1509-69
Gallatin Valley Sharpshooters, MT – 1502-52
Burlington Junior Rifle and Pistol Club, VT – 1501-58
Mass Rifles Jr, MA – 1496-52
Montgomery Bell Academy, TN – 1479-49
DePere Sportsman’s Club, WI – 1477-49
Mesquite High School, TX – 1475-44

Sporter Individuals

Christopher Potts, Buckhorn HS, AL – 278-7
Stephen Jensen, Broome County 4H Shooting Sports, NY – 277-9
Grady Wilkes, Daleville HS, AL – 274-5
Michael Tipper, Howe Military School, IN – 273-13
Kurt Hakola, Broome County 4H Shooting Sports, NY – 272-7
Patrick Sunderman, Post 435 CMP/Crew 437, MN – 272-7
Chelsea Rhoads, Ripley HS, TN – 271-6
Daniel Sojka, Arlington International Airgun, IL – 270-8
Jared Albright, Sarasota Military Academy, FL – 269-9
Michael Sauley, Lewis Co HS, KY – 269-8

Precision Individuals

Joseph Balkovic, Ee-de-how Long Rifle Club, ID – 393-26
Emily Quiner, Minnesota Centershots, MN – 389-24
Katie Fretts, Murrysville Rifle Team, PA – 389-19
Saul Reza, El Paso HS, TX – 388-19
Will Brown, Twin Falls Rifle and Pistol, ID – 386-18
Kayla Allen, Alabama International Rifle, AL – 385-23
Katie Fuller, Manzano HS, NM – 385-21
Jodi Ross, Cheyenne Public Shooting Park, WY – 385-15
Cole Bures, Southeast Nebraska Shooting Club, NE – 383-21
Caroline Barber, Southeast Nebraska Shooting Sports Club, NE – 382-22
Emma Lorenz, Liberty HS, WA – 382-11
Javier Rodela, Socorro HS, TX – 381-22

The U. S. Army sponsors the Annual U. S. Army Open Air Rifle Championship to 1) promote rifle practice and firearm safety, 2) to foster junior participation in prestigious state and national rifle competitions, and 3) to connect with American youth by making U. S. Army marksmanship expertise available to them. Participation by as many teams and clubs as possible in the state championship postal competitions is encouraged.