Bear, Cougar, Antelope Hunting On NM Game Commission Agenda

Bear, Cougar, Antelope Hunting On NM Game Commission Agenda

New Mexico Game and Fish
New Mexico Game and Fish

ALBUQUERQUE, NM –-( The State Game Commission will hear proposals and public comments about hunting seasons and licensing rules for bears, cougars, pronghorn antelope and deer at its meeting Saturday, Aug. 28, in Albuquerque.

Proposals include increased harvest limits for bears and cougars for the 2011-2014 seasons, and options to change the way the Department of Game and Fish allocates private-land pronghorn antelope licenses.

The meeting will be from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. at the Albuquerque Marriott, 2101 Louisiana Blvd., N.E., in Albuquerque. The full agenda, detailed agenda-item briefings and other information are available on the Department of Game and Fish Web site,, or by calling (505) 476-8008. Details of proposed hunting rules and opportunities to comment about them also are available on the Web site.

The Commission is expected to take final action on the 2011-2014 bear, cougar, pronghorn and deer proposals at its Sept. 30 meeting in Ruidoso.

Other agenda items Aug. 28 include:

  • A proposal to accept the Department’s biennial review of the status of state threatened and endangered species under the Wildlife Conservation Act. No species are recommended for uplisting or downlisting.
  • A request to approve the Department’s operating and capital projects budget requests for fiscal-year 2012.
  • A report on Gov. Bill Richardson’s executive order to temporarily ban trapping in the Blue Range Wolf Recovery Area of southwestern New Mexico while the Department conducts a study to assess the risks to Mexican Gray Wolves from trapping and whether some methods of trapping could be allowed that pose minimal risk of injury to wolves.

The State Game Commission is composed of seven members who represent the state’s diverse interests in wildlife-associated recreation and conservation. Members are appointed by the governor and confirmed by the state Senate. Current members are Chairman Jim McClintic, Vice-chairwoman Sandy Buffett, Tom Arvas, Gary Fonay, Kent Salazar, M.H. “Dutch” Salmon, and Thomas “Dick” Salopek.

If you are an individual with a disability who is in need of a reader, amplifier, qualified sign language interpreter, or any other form of auxiliary aid or service to attend or participate in the meeting, please contact Sonya Quintana, (505) 476-8030. Public documents, including the agenda and minutes, can be provided in various accessible forms.