2011 Industry Grants Announced At The National Association Of Sporting Goods Wholesalers Awards Dinner

2011 Industry Grants Announced At The National Association Of Sporting Goods Wholesalers Awards Dinner

National Association of Sporting Goods Wholesalers

Reno, Nevada –-(Ammoland.com)- NASGW announced grants to two non profit organizations to support industry efforts in advancing youth sports and congressional support for the industry at the Association’s 2011 Awards Dinner held at the Grand Sierra Resort in Reno, Nevada.

The awards were part of the organizations Annual Meeting and Expo.

Jack Baumler, NASGW Chairman, and Kent Williams, NASGW Vice Chair presented a $10,000 donation to the Youth Shooting Sports Alliance (YSSA). Accepting on behalf of YSSA was Steve Miller, Executive Director, and Cyndi Flannigan, President of YSSA. This donation kicks off a major fund raising campaign on behalf of the YSSA’s many grants and programs.

A second grant of $25,000 was awarded to the Congressional Sportsmen’s Foundation (CSF). Accepting on behalf of CSF was the organizations Secretary, Laurie Aronson. CSF promotes, protects and advances the rights of hunters and anglers and provides access and a voice for sportsmen with elected officials, sportsmen, and allied industry groups across the nation.

Also, Russ Thurman, Publisher and Editor of Shooting Industry Magazine presented a check in the amount of $37,000 to the National Shooting Sports Foundation (NSSF). These funds were raised during the Magazine’s 2011 Shooting Industry Masters, the proceeds of which are specifically designated to support NSSF’s First Shots program. Accepting the check was Steve Sanetti, President and CEO of NSSF.

At NASGW's request, Mr. Sanetti also explained that NSSF had formed a non-partisan Federal Election Commission-registered Political Action Committee, or PAC. The NSSF PAC supports pro-industry, pro-Second Amendment and pro-sportsmen candidates for federal office.

For more information about the National Association of Sporting Goods Wholesalers and its annual meeting and Expo, contact Maurice Desmarais, President, 630-596-9006. 1833 Centre Point Circle, Suite 123, Naperville, IL 60563 or visit the association’s website at wwww.nasgw.org, email:[email protected]

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments