NRA Announces 2012 Youth Education Summit Participants

National Rifle Association
National Rifle Association

FAIRFAX, Va. –-( The National Rifle Association is pleased to announce the 45 students selected to attend the 2012 Youth Education Summit (Y.E.S.), a seven-day, expense-paid educational experience in Washington, DC.

Summit participants will tour memorials and monuments surrounding the nation’s capital throughout the week as they learn the significance of the American Constitution, the Bill of Rights and the importance of being an active citizen. Scheduled stops include the Capitol Building, the Marine Corps Base at Quantico, the National Archives and the Newseum.

During the summit, up to $10,000 in college scholarships will be awarded to students who excel in the week’s activities. An additional $20,000 in scholarships are available after the summit for Y.E.S. students who create a portfolio describing how they promoted NRA programs, such as the Eddie Eagle GunSafe® Program or Refuse To Be A Victim, in their community.

This year’s Y.E.S. class was selected from hundreds of qualified applicants. Each prospective participant completed an extensive application process comprised of essays about the Second Amendment, personal statements, transcripts and three personal recommendations.

The National Rifle Association launched the Youth Education Summit in 1996 to encourage America’s youth to become active and knowledgeable citizens at the national and local level.

The NRA Foundation provides all funding for Y.E.S. through monies raised by Friends of NRA – a grassroots fund-raising program organized by community volunteers that supports thousands of local and national projects.

2012 Y.E.S. Participants

  • Kemper Gokmen – Huntsville, Alabama
  • Jeffrey Dow – Anchorage, Alaska
  • Sicily Wilcock – Mesa, Arizona
  • Jace Motley – Conway, Arkansas
  • Caleb LaCelle – Acampo, California
  • Molly Smith – Cambria, California
  • Jessica Chitkuer – Fullerton, California
  • Brooke Lane – Hudson, Colorado
  • Joshua Simon – Nokomis, Florida
  • Dirk Seymour – Coeur d’ Alene, Idaho
  • Alex Kaper – Mahomet, Illinois
  • Peter Dykhuizen – Plainfield, Illinois
  • Adam Weil – Evansville, Indiana
  • Elizabeth Barringer – Indianapolis, Indiana
  • Megan Hilbish – Emporia, Kansas
  • Clay Parker – Pine Grove, Louisiana
  • Mindy Downing – Brownville, Maine
  • Wyatt Farmer – Frederick, Maryland
  • Aiden Koplovsky – Duxbury, Massachusetts
  • Rudy Simpson – Whittemore, Michigan
  • Emily Trout – Cohasset, Minnesota
  • Dillon Hall – Saltillo, Mississippi
  • Nora Faris – Concordia, Missouri
  • Nicholas Radzykewycz – Park City, Montana
  • Kaytlyn Leonard – Liberty, North Carolina
  • Kyle Pletan – Dickinson, North Dakota
  • Eli West – Omaha, Nebraska
  • Sean Foley – Freehold, New Jersey
  • Emily Allen – Edgewood, New Mexico
  • Samuel Evans – New Woodstock, New York
  • Miranda Sternsher – Clarksville, Ohio
  • Nicholas Johnson – Owasso, Oklahoma
  • Bethany Janzen – Happy Valley, Oregon
  • Benjamin Barnes, Jr – Roseburg, Oregon
  • Kendra Lathrop – Gillett, Pennsylvania
  • Dominic Montemurro – Tarentum, Pennsylvania
  • Kaitlin Heitmann – Faulkton, South Dakota
  • Andrew Raves – Germantown, Tennessee
  • Michael Garner – Celina, Texas
  • Wyatt Saltarelli – Montgomery, Texas
  • Taylor Hart – Cedar Hills, Utah
  • Caitlin Hester – Colchester, Vermont
  • Hunter Bolan – Keysville, Virginia
  • Sydney Smith – Wayne, West Virginia
  • Kjersti Buckley – Upton, Wyoming