Fowler Wins His 3rd National Sporting Clays Championship

Fowler Wins His 3rd National Sporting Clays Championship
(L-R) David Radulovich, 3rd place; Bobby Fowler, National Champion; Anthony Matarese, runner-up
National Sporting Clays Association
National Sporting Clays Association

San Antonio, TX –-( Bobby Fowler finished the National Championship in dramatic fashion, delivering a perfect last-day score to win his third National Sporting Clays Championship title by a five-target margin.

Fowler previously won National Championships in 2000 and 2005.

Runner-up to Fowler was Anthony Matarese, and David Radulovich finished in third place. Annabelle Ayres won her second consecutive National Ladies Championship.

Reigning World Sporting Clays Champion Richard Faulds of England finished with the highest score of the week to win the International Championship.

One of the highlights of the week was the annual Top Gun Shootout, which has become a crowd favorite event. Fifteen top shooters consisting of previous National Champions, U.S. Open champions, All-Americans, and those who have distinguished themselves as shooters in other ways, were invited to face 25 challenging targets under the stadium lights before a packed house. Scott Robertson won the Top Gun title, followed by runner-up Desirae Edmunds and third place Bill McGuire.

The 25th anniversary National Championship was held October 23-28 at the National Shooting Complex.

Winners include:

National ChampionBobby Fowler – 294
Runner-upAnthony Matarese – 289
3rd PlaceDavid Radulovich – 287
Ladies ChampionAnnabelle Ayres – 273
Ladies Runner-upKatie Fox – 266
Ladies 3rd PlaceAlexandra Wampler – 262
Sub Junior ChampionTom Seay – 277
Junior ChampionDavid Radulovich – 287
Veteran ChampionSteve Edmondson – 284
Super Veteran ChampionCurtis Anderson – 261
Sr. Super Veteran ChampionGary McStay – 249
International ChampionRichard Faulds – 295
FITASCAnthony Matarese – 98
FITASC LadyAshley Little – 85
Krieghoff KupDerrick Mein – 99
Krieghoff Kup LadyAshley Little – 95
5-Stand M-AAGebben Miles – 98
5-Stand A-ERuben M. Martinez – 90
20 GaugeAnnabelle Ayres – 95
28 GaugePaul Montealegre – 100
.410 BoreZachary Kienbaum – 96
20 Gauge FITASCZachary Kienbaum – 48
28 Gauge FITASCScott Robertson – 49
Sub Gauge HOAScott Robertson – 287
All AroundAnthony Matarese – 580
Super SportingZachary Kienbaum – 99
Side X SideMichael Coleman – 92
Pump GunBob Davis – 94


See full scores and winners at

The National Sporting Clays Association is the official governing and sanctioning body of Sporting Clays in the United States. Headquartered at the National Shooting Complex in San Antonio, it is the world's largest Sporting Clays organization, with members in all 50 states and 10 foreign countries. To locate NSCA member clubs in your area or for more information on the National Sporting Clays Association, visit our website at

  • Leave a Comment No Comments

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *