Field Set for 2014 Army Junior Air Rifle Nationals

Field set for Army Junior Air Rifle Nationals
By Michael Molinaro

U.S. Army National Junior Air Rifle Sporter Team Champions, St. Thomas
FORT BENNING, Ga. – After three months of state competitions, the field has been announced for the 2014 U.S. Army National Junior Air Rifle Championship. Among those invited are the defending sporter team champions, St. Thomas from Mendota, Minn. (center). The championships will be held Feb. 24-26 at the U.S. Army Marksmanship unit’s Pool Indoor Range Complex. (Photo by Michael Molinaro, USAMU PAO)
United States Army Marksmanship Unit
United States Army Marksmanship Unit

FORT BENNING, Ga. –-( After three months of state competitions across the country, the field has been set for the 2014 U.S. Army National Junior Air Rifle Championships.

More than 1,000 junior shooters from 24 states shot for the chance to compete for national titles in precision and sporter categories at the U.S. Army Marksmanship Unit’s Pool International Indoor Range Complex.

The sporter team invitees are: Clearfield 1 (Clearfield, Utah); Middletown Blue (Binghamton, N.Y.); C.C. High School 1 (San Antonio); McMichael High School AFJROTC-1 (Rutherfordton, N.C.); Fountain-Fort Carson High School A (Canon, Colo.); Volcano Vista High School AFJROTC (Albuquerque, N.M.); David Crockett High School NJROTC -1 (Rutherfordton, N.C.); Saint Thomas 1 (Mendota Heights, Minn.); RS-Central High School MCJROTC -1 (Rutherfordton, N.C.); and Punahou Gold (Honolulu, Hawaii).

The precision team list is as follows: Timber Beasts (Lebanon, Ore.); Walla Walla JROTC 1 (Walla Walla, Wash.); Queen Anne 4H (Columbia, Md.); XMEN (Mendota Heights, Minn.); Volcano Vista Air Rifle Club (Albuquerque, N.M.); Lumpkin County High School Rifle Team (Dahlonega, Ga.); MN Centershots/Anoka Legion (Mendoat Heights, Minn.); La Cueva MCJROTC (Albuquerque, N.M.); Hardcore Four (Monroe, Ga.); and Gallatin Valley Sharp Shooters Precision (Bozeman, Mont.).

In addition to the shooters on teams who were invited, the following individuals qualified for the nationals in precision: Darren Kasl (El Paso, Texas); Julian De La Rosa (San Antonio); Alec Patajo (Seattle); Mary Pratt (Monroe, Ga.); Rhiann Travis (Granbury, Texas); Breaden Staheli (Clearfield, Utah); Toni Meza (El Paso, Texas); Verne Conant (Woburn, Mass.); Jason Spaude (Midland, Mich.); and Wade Stroda (Kansas, Kansas).

Rounding out the field in the sporter individual group is: Hunter Behrends (San Antonio); John Paul Williams (Lithia, Fla.); Ian Davis (Jacksonville, Fla.); Hayden Briggs (Rutherfordton, N.C.); Zachary Brooks (Lebanon, Ore.); Madison Snyder (Beatrice, Neb.); Andre Gross (Binghamton, N.Y.); Michael Wiggs (Lubbock, Texas); Huy Nguyen (San Antonio); and Jasmine Wiles (Lebanon, Ore.).

This U.S. Army-sponsored youth marksmanship championship promotes the development of rifle marksmanship skills among American youth and recognizes those who respond to this challenge. The USAMU supports our nation’s youth by fostering junior participation in prestigious state and national rifle competitions, promoting firearms safety, and connecting them with the expertise and professionalism of the Army and its Soldiers.

The national championship will take place Feb. 24-26 2014.

USAMU is part of the U.S. Army Accessions Brigade, Army Marketing and Research Group and is tasked with enhancing the Army’s recruiting effort, raising the standard of Army marksmanship and furthering small arms research and development to enhance the Army’s overall combat readiness.

About USAMU:
The USAMU enhances the Army's recruiting effort, raises the standard of the Army's marksmanship proficiency, and supports the Army's small arms research and development initiatives in order to raise the Army's overall combat readiness. For more information on the U.S. Army Marksmanship Unit, contact the Public Affairs Office at (706) 545-5436, [email protected] or

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments