Scholastic Shooting Sports Foundation Announces 2014 Scholarship Recipients

Forty-two SCTP and SPP student athletes receive $1000 scholarships

SSSF announced 42 student athletes who are recipients of $1,000 college scholarships
Scholastic Shooting Sports Foundation
Scholastic Shooting Sports Foundation

Maumee, OH -( Forty-two participants in the Scholastic Clay Target Program (SCTP) and Scholastic Pistol Program (SPP) have been named recipients of $1000 college scholarships being awarded by the Scholastic Shooting Sports Foundation (SSSF), the leader in youth development shooting sports programs.

Student athletes who graduated from high school in 2014 and will enroll in college this year were eligible to apply for the scholarships. Awards are based on SCTP / SPP participation, academics, need, and other factors.The scholarships are being funded by generous sponsors who support the youth shooting programs, as well as supporters who raise funds through national banquets.

For the SCTP scholarships, Beretta USA donated $10,000 to provide 10 scholarships, and the National Skeet Shooting Association and National Sporting Clays Association (NSSANSCA) contributed another $10,000 for 10 awards. SCTP National Fundraising Banquets provided $15,000 for 15 of the scholarships. NRA funded a $1000 special scholarship and will present two more $1000 scholarships to winners of the “Last Competitor Standing” competitions at the upcoming National Team Championships.

Of the six scholarships being awarded to SPP athletes, five are being funded by a donation from Smith & Wesson, while another is being funded by a $1000 donation from HiViz Shooting Systems.

The SCTP and SPP scholarship recipients for 2014 are:

Scholastic Clay Target Program Recipients

  • Frederick Wix – Arizona
  • Lyndsey Holmen – Arizona
  • Joshua Schanaman – Arizona
  • Kendra Motoyasu – California
  • Noah Adair – Georgia
  • Tony Milesi – Indiana
  • Jared Shaw – Idaho
  • Carter Eighmey – Iowa
  • William Faeth – Iowa
  • Marissa Scadden – Iowa
  • Garrett Carlson – Iowa
  • Morgan Ott – Iowa
  • Ronald Harms – Iowa
  • Ty Harmston – Illinois
  • Ron Palazzeti – Illinois
  • Megan Vogt – Illinois
  • Tanner Gariepy – Massachusetts
  • Tanner Tripp – Minnesota
  • Janelle Logan – Michigan
  • Nicholas Ostrander – Michigan
  • Tristan Larson – Michigan
  • Kelsey Schwimley – Missouri
  • Lori Nevole – Nebraska
  • Hannah Dinkins – North Carolina
  • Kimberly Bean – Ohio
  • Jarrett Barr – Ohio
  • Preston Whiteman – Pennsylvania
  • Jacob Grove – Pennsylvania
  • Corey Sease – South Carolina
  • Meghan Server – Tennessee
  • Reagan Nelson – Texas
  • Cole Sterk – Wisconsin
  • Nicholas Lucka – Wisconsin
  • Megan Barton – Wisconsin
  • Joel Kinder – Wisconsin
  • Anna Sommers – Wisconsin – NRA Scholarship


Scholastic Pistol Program Recipients

  • Jonah Munsell – Illinois – Smith & Wesson Scholarship
  • Sam McAdams – Tennessee – Smith & Wesson Scholarship
  • Kirby Bohls – Texas – Smith & Wesson Scholarship
  • Michael Chase Miller – Texas – Smith & Wesson Scholarship
  • Mariah Kerr – Wisconsin – Smith & Wesson Scholarship
  • Alicia Dale – Wisconsin – HiViz Shooting Systems Scholarship


About The Scholastic Shooting Sports Foundation (SSSF)

The Scholastic Shooting Sports Foundation (SSSF) is responsible for all aspects of the Scholastic Clay Target Program (SCTP) and Scholastic Pistol Program (SPP) across the United States. SCTP and SPP are youth development programs, originally developed by the National Shooting Sports Foundation (NSSF), in which adult coaches and volunteers use shooting sports to teach and to demonstrate sportsmanship, responsibility, honesty, ethics, integrity, teamwork, and other positive life skills.