Trophies, Bows and Scholarships Awarded at the 2015 NASP Tournament

National Archery in the Schools Program
Trophies, Bows and Scholarships Awarded at the 2015 NASP Tournament
South Dakota Game, Fish, and Parks
South Dakota Game, Fish, and Parks

Pierre, S.D. -( Approximately 400 young archers from across South Dakota gathered in Rapid City to claim top honors in the 2015 National Archery in the Schools Program (NASP) state tournament sponsored by the South Dakota Game, Fish and Parks (GFP).

The top scoring teams and individuals in the elementary, middle school and high school divisions received trophies and GFP awarded the top individual winners with bows.

Schools had an opportunity to bring teams to the tournament to shoot a total possible score of 3,600 points. Teams must have consisted of at least twelve students and a minimum of four males and four females.

Winning Teams:

Elementary                                        Middle School                                  High School

1.       Eagle Butte- 2,482            1. RC East Middle- 2,995                1. Avon-3,119

2.       Gettysburg- 2,379            2. Gettysburg- 2,803                     2. RC Central-3,084

3.       Rockyford- 1,454             3. OLL-Porcupine- 2,709                3. Dakota Christian-2,867

In addition to the team competition, each individual archer shot for a total possible score of 300 points.

Elementary Division Winners:

1.       Matthew Birkeland-Jones County -273

2.       TC Lawrence-Eagle Butte- 244

3.       Emma Faller-Dakota Christian- 243

Middle School Division Winners:

1.       Dylan Westover-OLL Porcupine- 286

2.       Jacob Birkeland-Jones County- 279

3.       Gabriel Sanchez-Rockyford- 273

High School Division Winners:

1.       Tanner Williamson-RC Central- 286

2.       Mekayla Kelly-Red Cloud-282

3.       Austin Stromberg-McCook County Central- 280

Scholarships totaling $1,000 were also awarded to students who participated in the tournament. Scholarship winners were Ashton Larson of Gettysburg, Jeila Schuh of Red Cloud and Taylor Johnson of Avon. Funding for the student scholarships came through the South Dakota Parks and Wildlife Foundation, Cabela’s, Jones County Sportsman’s Club and the NASP Foundation.

To become part of next year’s tournament, contact Curt at [email protected] or call 605.220.2130.