Hedge Jarvis Becomes First Oregon Instructor in International Hunter Ed Hall of Fame

82 instructors make Oregon’s new Hall of Fame

Hedge Jarvis becomes first Oregon instructor in International Hunter Ed Hall of Fame
Hedge Jarvis becomes first Oregon instructor in International Hunter Ed Hall of Fame
Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife Logo
Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife

Oregon -(Ammoland.com)- Hedge Jarvis of Winchester, Ore. will be the state’s first hunter education instructor to be inducted into the International Hunter Education-USA Volunteer Hall of Fame during a ceremony on May 21 in Des Moines, Iowa.

Jarvis, 77, has been teaching hunter education in Oregon for more than 32 years and has certified more than 1,665 students.

Jarvis is so well-liked that he often finds himself teaching the children and even grandchildren of former students. “I have parents and in one case even a grandparent tell me that I was their instructor, and that’s why they are bringing their kids back—they want their kids to take my class,” says Jarvis. “That continues to motivate me to teach.”

Jarvis has also had a huge impact on Oregon’s overall program by patiently serving on work groups to overhaul the student manual, student test, and policies and procedures.

“Hedge has been instrumental in developing Oregon’s independent study field day lesson plans and course design,” said James Reed, ODFW hunter education coordinator. “He was one of the first instructors to see the value in online classes and the need to have a quality accompanying field day.”

Indeed, Jarvis is comfortable with kids using technology in his classroom, noting that many use their cell phones to follow the online class during his traditional class. “We get youngsters who take the regular class and who are also online with online course to be ahead of the curriculum,” he said.

According to IHEA-USA, 12 other hunter education instructors nationwide have received this Volunteer Hall of Fame honor for their service to hunter education over the course of their lives. “This award recognizes those that generally put in 20-plus years in a manner that goes above and beyond the normal effort,” says IHEA-USA Executive Director Steve Hall. “They get involved nationally, too.”

In an effort to recognize many longtime hunter education instructors, ODFW created its own Oregon Hall of Fame this year. Last month, the department inducted 92 instructors with more than 20 years of volunteer service during a ceremony at the Oregon Hunter Education Conference in Pendleton (see names below).

In Oregon, hunter education is required for any hunter under age 18 and recommended for everyone. Other states require it for every hunter, regardless of age. Hunting incidents have fallen drastically since hunter education became mandatory in 1958.

Oregon has over 500 volunteer hunter education instructors who certify about 5,000 hunters each year. Nationally, approximately 52,700 volunteer hunter education instructors certify 694,346 students each year according to IHEA-USA.

Oregon 2015 Volunteer Hunter Education Instruction Hall of Fame
Recognizing instructors who have volunteered for more than 20 years.
Baker County
Bill Taylor (33 years)

Clackamas County
Dennis Berreth (38 years)
David Braman (23 years)
James Burdett (34 years)
Anthony Burtt (27 years)
Jeff Hepler (22 years)
Clyde Shaver (25 years)
Glen Watson (23 years)

Clatsop County
Walt Pohlenz (28 years)

Columbia County
Arnold Cork (28 years)
Rob Prince (33 years)
Gerald Simmons (28 years)
Bill Womack (42 years)

Coos County
Gerald Forty (22 years)
Marcey Fullerton (23 years)

Crook County
Stewart Butts (24 years)
Carter Fall (23 years)

Curry County
Teresa Cotton (20 years)

Deschutes County
Brian Ferry (22 years)
Larry Garibay (33 years)
Dayton Hyde (23 years)
David Jarschke (20 years)
Fred Kowoloski (23 years)
Bill Layton (21 years)
Stephen Payer (23 years)
Charles Putman (27 years)
Dan Ramming (22 years)

Douglas County
Eugene Bliven (31 years)
Duke Hayes (23 years)
Hedge Jarvis (31 years)
Ralph Klein (20 years)
Don Wilson (25 years)

Grant County
Neil Bauer (41 years)
Lynn Comini (23 years)
Walter Day (22 years)
Christopher Labhart (22 years)
Ken Larssen (21 years)
Joe Wallace (21 years)

Harney County
Chuck Boatman (21 years)
David Ganskopp (24 years)

Jackson County
Diana Bauman (25 years)
Homer Haynes (23 years)
Darrell Long (22 years)
Duane Mackey (39 years)
Rick Mackey (23 years)
Tom Maddox (20 years)
Don Pritchett (27 years)

Jefferson County
Tim McCormick (22 years)

Lake County
Craig Foster (28 years)
Marty St. Louis (25 years)

Lane County
Ted Bork (25 years)
Nick Castillo (25 years)
Bill Harris (30 years)
Lois McGlothin (34 years)
Carl McGlothin (34 years)
Rich Morgan (35 years)
Warren Weathers (26 years)
George Westfall (26 years)

Lincoln County
John Baird (22 years)
Paul Blasko (35 years)
Don Peters (26 years)
Bill Winheim (20 years)

Linn County
David Stumpff (40 years)

Malheur County
Lanny Fujishin (32 years)
Don Hodge (34 years)

Marion County
Carl Barner (25 years)

Morrow County
Greg Barron (25 years)
Roger Trueax (32 years)

Multnomah County
Carl Haggland (24 years)

Sherman County
Dean Brege (38 years)
Keith Morris (25 years)

Umatilla County
William Burwell (37 years)
Phillip Jarmer (22 years)
Andy Millar (32 years)

Union County
David Bronson (31 years)

Wasco County
Hewitt Hillis (25 years)
Tim Sipe (20 years)
Zach Worth (27 years)

Washington County
Warren Aney (55 years)
John Cundiff (24 years)
Robert Remillard (21 years)
Charlie Rutkowski (21 years)
Richard Thompson (21 years)
Thomas Widman (20 years)

Wheeler County
Patrick Perry (37 years)
Roy Peterson (24 years)

Yamhill County
Lloyd Abbott (38 years)
Roy Harrell (22 years)
Charles Lamson (34 years)
Wayne Stocks (26 years)
Tom Tankersley (24 years)
Bruce Waltz (23 years)