Scholastic Shooting Sports Foundation Awards $57,000 in Scholarships to 65 Athletes

SSSF donates over 350k to Midwayusa foundation
Scholastic Shooting Sports Foundation
Scholastic Shooting Sports Foundation

San Antonio, TX -( The Scholastic Shooting Sports Foundation (SSSF) is proud to announce the 2015 recipients in its SSSF Scholarship Program.

Sixty-five Scholastic Clay Target Program (SCTP) and Scholastic Pistol Program (SPP) student athletes will receive scholarships totaling $57,000. SSSF will add another $4,000 to that total in July when it awards scholarships to four additional athletes during Last Competitor Standing events at its 2015 National Team Championships.

From 2013 through its 2015 distributions, SSSF will have awarded $140,000 in scholarship funds to 148 student athletes in the SCTP and SPP programs. Athletes who graduated from high school in 2015 and will enroll in college this year were eligible to apply for this year’s scholarships. Awards are based on SCTP / SPP participation, academics, need, and other factors.

The scholarships are being funded by generous sponsors who support SSSF’s youth shooting programs, as well as supporters who raise funds through national banquets. For the SCTP scholarships, the National Skeet Shooting Association and National Sporting Clays Association (NSSA-NSCA) contributed $10,000 for 10 awards, and an additional $8,500 was provided by the Amateur Trapshooting Association (ATA),, NRA, Hodgdon Powder, Zanders Sporting Goods, and MEC.

Of the eight $1,000 scholarships being awarded to SPP athletes, six are being funded by a donation from Smith & Wesson, while others are being funded by a $1,000 donation each from the Joyce Wilson Women in the Shooting Sports Scholarship and the International Defensive Pistol Association (IDPA).

Congratulations to the following 2015 scholarship recipients:

Scholastic Clay Target Program Recipients
Scholarships are funded by the SSSF and NSSA-NSCA unless otherwise indicated:

Jacob Buchanon  Alaska
Grace Hambuchen Arkansas
Marshall Anema Arizona
Danielle Buttermore Connecticut
Clayton Teall Florida
Zachary Metz Florida
Ciara Erenberger Iowa NRA
Samuel Frederes Iowa
Joshua Morrison Iowa
Lake Heaton Iowa ATA
Lauren Herr Iowa
Christopher Martin Iowa
Caleb Gradeless Iowa
Samantha Ashland Iowa
Luke Borden Idaho
Sydney Carson Indiana
Conner Haley Indiana ATA
Emily Duquette Massachusetts
Alyssa Minder Minnesota
Zachary Jung Minnesota
Emily Hampson Missouri
Austin Webb Montana Hodgdon Powder
Courtney Jones North Carolina
Hunter Clark North Carolina
Grant Lind North Dakota
Madison Webster Nebraska Hodgdon Powder
Carl Kessler Ohio
Sean Curran Ohio
Tess Decker Oklahoma
Douglas Birchard Pennsylvania ATA
Bryce Buckwalter Pennsylvania
Zane McShane Pennsylvania
Donovan Barry Pennsylvania
William Till South Carolina
Braxton Rider Tennessee
Harold Doughty III Tennessee
Samantha Smith Tennessee
Mathew St.John Tennessee NRA Scholarship
Joseph Simmons Tennessee
Travis Old Texas
Ian Stodart Utah
Grayson Helms Washington
Megan Rice Washington
Abigail Denmark Washington
Abigail Rosenau Wisconsin ATA
Dalton Karow Wisconsin
Emily Bradley Wisconsin
Samuel Hovde Wisconsin
Zachary Hahn Wisconsin
Zachary Henderson Wisconsin
Emma Gehring Wisconsin
Atticus Clark Wisconsin
Gunnar Kern Wisconsin
Molly Cocroft Wisconsin
Joseph Altwies Wisconsin
Brian Morris Wisconsin Zanders Sporting Goods
Pauline Schlais Wisconsin MEC

Scholastic Pistol Program Recipients

Franklin Ordway Oregon  Smith & Wesson
Eri Martin Maine Smith & Wesson
Hunter Reiley Texas Smith & Wesson
Ryan Hellyer Kentucky Smith & Wesson
Tyler Wright Ohio Smith & Wesson
Corey Bucholz Wisconsin Smith & Wesson
Amber Rasmussen Wisconsin Joyce Wilson Scholarship
Jordan Castro Washington IDPA

About SSSF

The Scholastic Shooting Sports Foundation (SSSF) is responsible for all aspects of the Scholastic Clay Target Program (SCTP) and Scholastic Pistol Program (SPP) across the United States. SCTP and SPP are youth development programs in which adult coaches and other volunteers use shooting sports to teach and to demonstrate sportsmanship, responsibility, honesty, ethics, integrity, teamwork, and other positive life skills. SCTP was developed as a program of the National Shooting Sports Foundation (NSSF) until the SSSF was created in 2007 to operate the SCTP. In 2012, SSSF created the SPP and became the managing foundation of both programs.

For more information about SSSF, visit