Delaware NREC Reminds Hunters to be Aware of Shared Hunting Grounds During Seasons

Clean Wetlands
Delaware NREC Reminds Hunters to be Aware of Shared Hunting Grounds During Seasons
Delaware Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control (DNREC)
Delaware Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control (DNREC)

Delaware -(Ammoland.com)- DNREC’s Division of Fish & Wildlife reminds hunters that a variety of game species are in season from now until February, and to be aware of other hunters using diverse weapons and hunting methods while seeking different game animals. Small game hunters, squirrel hunters in particular, should know that they may find themselves sharing their hunting spots with camouflaged archery deer hunters in tree stands.

Upcoming or ongoing deer seasons:

  • · Archery/crossbow – thru Saturday, Jan. 30, 2016
  • · Special antlerless – Saturday, Dec. 12-Saturday, Dec. 19
  • · Handgun – Saturday, Jan. 2-Saturday, Jan. 9, 2016
  • · Shotgun – Saturday, Jan. 16-Saturday, Jan. 23, 2016
  • · Muzzleloader – Monday, Jan. 25-Saturday, Jan. 30, 2016

Upcoming or ongoing waterfowl/migratory game bird seasons include:

  • · Ducks and Canada geese – Friday, Dec. 18-Saturday, Jan. 30, 2016
  • · Snow geese – thru Saturday, Jan. 30, 2016.
  • · Snow Goose Conservation Order – Monday, Feb. 1-Friday, Feb. 5, 2016 and Monday, Feb. 8-Saturday, April 9, 2016
  • · Youth waterfowl day – Saturday, Feb. 6, 2016
  • · Brant – Tuesday, Dec. 22-Saturday, Jan 2, 2016 and Saturday, Jan. 9-Saturday, Jan. 30, 2016
  • · Woodcock and snipe – Saturday, Dec. 12-Tuesday, Jan. 12, 2016
  • · Mourning dove – thru Wednesday, Jan. 13, 2016

Upcoming or ongoing small game and furbearer hunting seasons include:

  • · Gray squirrel and pheasant – thru Saturday, Feb. 6, 2016
  • · Quail – thru Saturday, Jan. 2, 2016
  • · Rabbit, raccoon, opossum, red fox and coyote – Continue through Monday, Feb. 29, 2016

Hunters are reminded to check daily bag limits and possession limits, as well as types of firearms and ammunition permitted for the game they are planning to hunt.

If hunting on public lands, hunters also should review wildlife area maps and rules, including legal shooting hours and dates, specific rules for each wildlife area and any permits they may need. Wildlife area maps and rules are available at DNREC’s Dover licensing desk in the Richardson & Robbins Building, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, or online at Delaware Hunting Maps.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
2 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Stacy

Very nice article but that picture doesn’t represent Delaware at all…….Most of Delaware’s land is very flat, averaging only 58 ft. above sea level. … The Coastal Plain covering much of Delaware is a low-lying stretch of land that borders the Atlantic Ocean.

F Riehl, Editor in Chief

grrr.. interns. @Stacy , Thanks for having our backs.