A Brief History of the NCAA Rifle Championship

Note: This article was originally posted on NRA Blog: http://bit.ly/2mcrvXZ


USA -(Ammoland.com)- The NCAA Rifle Championship is just around the corner, scheduled for March 10 and 11 at The Ohio State University in Columbus, Ohio, where 48 of the nation’s best student-athletes in the shooting sports will convene to determine the head of the class in 2017.

The tournament features individual and team championships consisting of a two-day aggregate score from smallbore and air rifle shooting. This year, eight universities will field teams at the event, with 40 of the participants coming from those eight teams and eight additional individual qualifiers from other schools who were selected from their qualifying scores.

The NCAA Rifle Championship was established in 1980, and the first competition was held that year. The original three-position smallbore rifle and air rifle events from 1980 remain in place today.

University of Nebraska Rifle Team Student-Athletes.

Read the rest of the article on NRA Blog.

  • Leave a Reply

    Please Login to comment
    Notify of