Congressional Staffers Join Sportsmen’s Community for Annual Shooting Competition

Beginner shooters learning about firearm safety at the August Recess Shoot-Out
Beginner shooters learning about firearm safety at the August Recess Shoot-Out
Congressional Sportsmen's Foundation
Congressional Sportsmen’s Foundation

Washington, DC – -( Yesterday, Congressional Sportsmen’s Caucus (CSC) staffers kicked off August Recess by joining the Congressional Sportsmen’s Foundation (CSF) along with other representatives from the sportsmen’s community and allied industries outside Washington, DC, for the annual August Recess Shoot-Out.

The event, which gathered nearly 200 attendees, included a trap, skeet, and sporting clays competition. CSF

President Jeff Crane thanked staffers for their work on behalf of sportsmen and women over the last year. “Thank you for your efforts to advance policies that ensure hunting and angling, as well as fish and wildlife conservation are advanced,” said Crane.

“Your dedication to the nearly 40 million sportsmen and women across the country will ensure that our collective passion for outdoor pursuits is accessible and abundant in the future.”

Among attendees were over 40 beginner shooters who had the opportunity to learn the basics of firearm safety from professional shooting instructors. Hunter and recreational shooter recruitment, retention, and reactivation is one of CSF’s top priorities. Increasing participation in the hunting and shooting sports is important to the future of outdoor recreation and fish and wildlife conservation funding, which is primarily funded by sportsmen and women through the American System of Conservation Funding.

After the competition, the following awards for the sharpest shooters in trap, skeet, and sporting clays were announced by Crane along with CSF Board of Directors Member Larry Keane of the National Shooting Sports Foundation.

  • Top Gun: Jared Hill (Bunge North America)
  • Top Gun Female: Nickie Currie (Amgen)
  • Top Gun Republican: Chris Diller (Rep. Vicky Hartzler)
  • Top Gun Democrat: Ben Jackson (Rep. Gene Green)
  • Top Skeet: Andrew Borden (Bass Pro Shops)
  • Top Trap: Scott Nulty (Rep. Glenn Thompson)
  • Top Sporting Clays: Brian Calabrese (National Rifle Association)
  • Top Beginners: Megan Boland (Rep. Dan Donovan); Alexah Rogge (Rep. Rod Blum); Rachel Schwegman (Rep. Bob Latta)
  • CSF Board Chairman Paul Miller and Board Members Jeanne Mitchell (Exxon Mobil Corporation) and Chris Gullott (Bridgestone Americas, Inc.) were also in attendance.

Title Sponsors included: BP America Inc.; Cabela’s Outdoor Fund; Exxon Mobil Corporation; Hess Corporation; ITC Holdings Corporation; National Shooting Sports Foundation; Natural Resource Results LLC, LLC; and Vista Outdoor Inc. Host Sponsors included: Anheuser-Busch Companies; Bass Pro Shops; Ducks Unlimited Inc.; Federal Forest Resource Coalition; Herbalife International; Hornady Manufacturing; IceMiller Strategies LLC; National Rifle Association; The Nature Conservancy; Oracle; Outdoor Sportsman Group; Petroleum Marketers Association of America; Plano Synergy Holdings; Richard Childress Racing; Safari Club International; Shimano American Corporation; SilencerCo, LLC; Washington Metro Chapter of Safari Club International; and Winchester Ammunition.

About Congressional Sportsmen’s Foundation

Since 1989, the Congressional Sportsmen’s Foundation (CSF) has maintained a singleness of purpose that has guided the organization to become the most respected and trusted sportsmen’s organization in the political arena. CSF’s mission is to work with Congress, governors, and state legislatures to protect and advance hunting, angling, recreational shooting and trapping. The unique and collective force of the Congressional Sportsmen’s Caucus (CSC), the Governors Sportsmen’s Caucus (GSC) and the National Assembly of Sportsmen’s Caucuses (NASC), working closely with CSF, and with the support of major hunting, angling, recreational shooting and trapping organizations, serves as an unprecedented network of pro-sportsmen elected officials that advance the interests of America’s hunters and anglers.