Application Period For Unit 4 Spring Turkey Permits

Kansas Turkey
Kansas Turkey

PRATT, Kan. -( Five-hundred Unit 4 spring turkey permits will be available to Kansas residents for the 2018 season and the deadline to apply is Feb. 9, 2018.

Kansas hunters age 15 and under may purchase a spring turkey permit (valid statewide) over the counter or online; they do not need to enter the Unit 4 draw. To apply for a Unit 4 spring turkey permit, visit their website and click “Hunting,” “Fees, Licenses & Permits,” then “Turkey.”

The permit fee is $32.50, which includes the application fee. Unsuccessful applicants will receive a refund check for the permit price ($26) and be issued a preference point. Hunters may elect not to apply for a permit and only purchase a preference point for $6.50. Only one point may be obtained per year.

The Unit 4 spring turkey permit is also valid in adjacent Units 1, 2 and 5. Applicants have the option of applying for a Unit 4 combo permit at the reduced price, but the second turkey game tag will only be valid in Units 1, 2, 3, 5 and 6.

Unit 4 Spring Turkey Application Fees

  • General Application: $32.50
  • Landowner/Tenant Application: $20.00
  • General Combo Permit/Game Tag Application: $42.50
  • Landowner/Tenant Combo Permit/Game Tag Application: $25.00
  • Nonresident Tenant Application: $37.50
  • Nonresident Tenant Combo Permit/Game Tag Application: $50.00
  • Preference Point only: $6.50

Any individual who has purchased a spring turkey permit is eligible for a second turkey game tag of which is valid in Units 1, 2, 3, 5 and 6 ONLY.

All other spring turkey permits and game tags are sold over-the-counter and online.

The 2018 Kansas spring turkey season will open April 1-17 for youth and hunters with disabilities, April 9-17 for archery hunters, and April 18-May 31 for the regular season.

For more information on spring turkey hunting, visit their website or call (620) 672-5911.

About KDWPT:

The Kansas Department of Wildlife, Parks and Tourism is a cabinet-level agency with a Secretary appointed by the Governor. A seven-member, bipartisan commission, also appointed by the Governor, advises the Secretary and approves regulations governing outdoor recreation and fish and wildlife resources in Kansas. The commission conducts business during regular public sessions.

KDWPT employs approximately 460 full-time employees in five divisions: Executive Services, Administrative Services, Fisheries and Wildlife, Law Enforcement, Parks and Tourism.

Department History:

  • 1905 – Fish and game laws were organized under the Kansas Fish and Game Department and implementation of a state law requiring a license to hunt.
  • 1911 – The State Fish and Game Department was placed under the supervision of the University of Kansas Board of Regents
  • 1925 – The Fish and Game Department was reorganized as the Kansas Forestry, Fish and Game Commission with three board members appointed by the Governor.
  • 1927 – Commission was reorganized and was given approval to organize a warden service. Fishing licenses required of men 18-70.
  • 1939 – Commission’s three-member board was abolished by the legislature and replaced by a six-member bipartisan commission appointed by the Governor
  • 1943 – Legislature gives the commission full authority to set seasons and dates
  • 1955 – The legislature and Gov. Fred Hall create the State Park and Resources Authority.
  • 1960 – First Kansas boating laws enacted
  • 1987 – Gov. Mike Hayden signs executive order merging the State Park and Resources Authority and Fish and Game Commission to create the Kansas Department of Wildlife and Parks
  • 2011 – Gov. Sam Brownback signs executive order moving the Division of Tourism from the Department of Commerce to the newly renamed Kansas Department of Wildlife, Parks and Tourism