Georgia: Self-Defense Under Attack

NRA-ILA
NRA – ILA

Charlotte, NC --(Ammoland.com)-  Senate Bill 280, sponsored by state Senator Vincent Fort (D-39), would repeal an integral portion of Georgia’s self-defense law that allows an individual to defend themselves without a duty to retreat, putting your fundamental right to self-defense in jeopardy.

SB 280 is dangerous legislation that stands to empower and benefit violent criminals in their attacks on law-abiding citizens.  Law-abiding citizens should not fear criminal prosecution when they stand their ground and defend themselves without retreating from any place they have a legal right to be.  This type of senseless and politically motivated legislation puts the rights of the criminal before the rights of a potential victim, and must be stopped.

Please contact members of the Senate committee TODAY and urge them to oppose SB 280 as a misguided infringement on your right to self-defense.  Tell them that victims should have the protection of the law, NOT criminals!  This Senate committee members’ contact information is provided below:

Senate Judiciary Non-Civil Committee:

Senator Jesse Stone, Chairman
(404) 463-1314
jesse.stone@senate.ga.gov

Senator William T. Ligon, Jr., Vice-Chairman
(404) 656-0045
william.ligon@senate.ga.gov

Senator Curt Thompson, Secretary
(404) 463-1318
curt@curtthompson.com

Senator Joshua McKoon, Ex-Officio
(404) 463-3931
jrm2016@yahoo.com

Senator Charlie Bethel
(404) 651-7738
charlie.bethel@senate.ga.gov

Senator John Crosby
(404) 463-5258
John.Crosby@senate.ga.gov

Senator Vincent Fort
(404) 656-5091
vincent.fort@senate.ga.gov

Senator Hunter Hill
(404) 463-2518
Hunter.Hill@senate.ga.gov

Senator Ronald B. Ramsey, Sr.
(404) 463-2598
ronald.ramsey@senate.ga.gov

About:
Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the “lobbying” arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution. Visit: www.nra.org

  • 2 thoughts on “Georgia: Self-Defense Under Attack

    1. If Georgia politicians are concerned with public safety, maybe they should come up with a snow removal plan for the greater Atlanta area first?

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>