TN: House Passes 18-20 Year Old Adults Eligible for Carry Permit

Virus Shutdown Threatens Constitutional Carry Bills in Tennessee, iStock-884202954
TN: House Passes 18-20 Year Old Adults Eligible for Carry Permit, iStock-884202954

U.S.A.-(AmmoLand.com)-— On April 21, 2022, the Tennessee House voted 64 to 28 to pass HB 1735. A similar bill in the Senate is known as SB 2291.  The bill is an incremental step toward restoring Second Amendment rights to young adults. The bill requires the department of safety to issue an enhanced handgun carry permit to people who are at least 18 years of age, and meet the other requirements which apply to people 21 and older. Previously, the minimum age was 21.  From legiscan.com, bill text:

(b) Except as provided in subsection (r), any resident of Tennessee who is a United States citizen or lawful permanent resident, as defined by § 55-50-102, may apply to the department of safety for an enhanced handgun carry permit. If the applicant is at least eighteen (18) years of age and is not prohibited from possessing a firearm in this state pursuant to § 39-17-1307(b), 18 U.S.C. § 922(g), or any other state or federal law, and the applicant otherwise meets all of the requirements of this section, the department shall issue a permit to the applicant.

In a compromise, the bill prohibits people aged 18 to 20, who have the enhanced permit, from transporting or storing firearms at all sorts of schools; then grants exceptions to those with military connections, as listed in the bill:

(e) Notwithstanding subsection (a), this section does not apply to a person who is under twenty-one (21) years of age and transports or stores a firearm or firearm ammunition in the person’s motor vehicle while on or utilizing a public or private parking area that is located on any public or private school campus, grounds, recreation area, athletic field or any other property owned, operated, or while in use by any board of education, school, college or university board of trustees, regents or directors for the administration of any public or private educational institution, unless the person:

(1) Is at least eighteen (18) years of age; and

(2) 

(A) Is an honorably discharged or retired veteran of the United States armed forces;

(B) Is an honorably discharged member of the army national guard, the army reserve, the navy reserve, the marine corps reserve, the air national guard, the air force reserve, or the coast guard reserve, who has successfully completed a basic training program; or

(C) Is a member of the United States armed forces on active duty status or is a current member of the army national guard, the army reserve, the navy reserve, the marine corps reserve, the air national guard, the air force reserve, or the coast guard reserve, who has successfully completed a basic training program.

SECTION 5. This act takes effect July 1, 2022,

The Tennessee legislature has only a few more days to pass the reform bill if they are going to. The legislative session ends on May 7, 2022.  The Senate has a large majority of Republicans, 27 to 6. If the bill passes the Judiciary Committee and is voted on in the Senate, it will likely be sent to Governor Bill Lee for his signature. It is not certain that Governor Lee would sign the bill, but it seems likely. He signed the Constitutional Carry bill a year ago in 2021.

WKRN characterized HB 1735 as giving “18-year-olds the right to carry a gun.” From whnt.com:

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (WKRN) – If you’re 18, it is unlawful to smoke or drink before turning 21, but Tennessee House lawmakers want to give 18-year-olds the right to carry a gun.

Opponents say the bill would increase gun crimes and self-harm, but supporters say it’s a constitutional right all adults should have. HB 1735 lowers the age from 21 to 18 to lawfully carry a handgun openly or concealed.

As shown in the actual bill, the legislation does not “give” anyone anything. It simply allows 18 to 20-year-olds the opportunity to apply for an enhanced carry permit.

Across the nation, permit holders have shown themselves to be more law-abiding than police officers.


About Dean Weingarten:

Dean Weingarten has been a peace officer, a military officer, was on the University of Wisconsin Pistol Team for four years, and was first certified to teach firearms safety in 1973. He taught the Arizona concealed carry course for fifteen years until the goal of Constitutional Carry was attained. He has degrees in meteorology and mining engineering, and retired from the Department of Defense after a 30 year career in Army Research, Development, Testing, and Evaluation.

Dean Weingarten

20 Comments
Most Voted
Newest Oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Grigori

I hope this idea catches on and spreads like wildfire!

musicman44mag

I hope your right and it doesn’t wind up being a slap in the face by the other states that will not recognize it causing them to eliminate permits from Tennessee.

OreGONEISTAN where your permit isn’t worth shit from another state.

Grigori

It shouldn’t be a worry. Look through a reciprocity page from a state that does not recognize the 2A rights of 18-20 year olds but is reciprocal with a state that does recognize their rights. In many such cases, the “21 and older” state simply states they only recognize permits from the “18 and older” state, if the permit holder is 21 or older.

Rockman1977

Yes, our informed young adults are covered by the Constitution also. Stop trying to exclude these people from the guarantees written in the Constitution.

Grigori

Where did the other comments all go????

musicman44mag

sometimes they rewrite the same article and pull all the comments from the first one down. Maybe that happened with this.

Grigori

Yesterday, there was a comment by another poster on here who said that he would be fine if they brought down the age for permits to 17. I agreed and added that I would go one better and make it 16, as was the case in Vermont for Constitutional/permitless carry in that state until a few years ago when idiots in its Legislature saw fit to “fix” a non-existent “problem” by raising the age to carry from 16 to 18. I probably began carrying at 15, when my biological father got me a high standard .22WMR Derringer at that age,… Read more »

musicman44mag

At age 15 I was getting robbed for my lunch money by a gang of 8 blacks. I could have grabbed dads 357 and took it to school to solve the situation but instead I found a way to get around their timing and taking alternate routes to school so they couldn’t have a set pattern to trap me. Getting a 10 speed was a plus because none of them had bikes. I was literally being robbed and intimidated on a daily basis and even beat two times. I could have shot one of them, the main big dude and… Read more »

Wild Bill

Where were the adults?

musicman44mag

I wouldn’t tell my dad because he would have told me to fight and it doesn’t matter that you get your ass kicked. Go down fighting like he had before. He also told me that if I were ever challenged for a fight and backed down that he would beat me so I better fight no matter the odds. I always did what dad said until he wanted me to steal. That was the day I lost all respect for him. I went to the principal and he said they were not responsible for what took place off of school… Read more »

Wild Bill

Shocking. Well, you did learn to use your wits to overcome brawn. That is the important part.

musicman44mag

Thank you.

buzzsaw

I don’t know where the adults were during the lead up, but they always seemed to pop up exactly when I had had enough and hit back. That seems to be the only thing they EVER saw.

I suspect the adults supposedly running the show in MM44mag’s youth were similar.

Wild Bill

Yeah, never around when you want one! Ha!

Wild Bill

How would you have handled multiple opponents?

musicman44mag

I wonder if there is going to be a problem with reciprocity now by the states that require you to be 21 in order to have a permit. I hope this doesn’t backfire.

OreGONEISTAN where your permit isn’t worth shit no matter who you are or where you are from. GONEISTAN is on my tags for a reason, not just hype.

Grigori

That issue is already addressed by many states that have reciprocity, by adding verbiage on a 21 and older state’s declaration of reciprocity that permits from a 18 and older state are only honored if the permit holder from the 18 and older state is at least 21. I have seen that or similar verbiage in various lists of states which have reciprocity with other states.

I hope that as time goes on, the number of states recognizing the 2A rights of 18-20 year old citizens vastly outnumbers those who discriminate against those citizens.

rocktop

Ok, just want to make sure I have this correct. They have a problem with someone who is 18 having a gun, but no issue with a kid in elementary school changing gender?

MPL12550

Great news for TN. I think it could had gone from 17-20.

Grigori

I fully agree! I could even go with 16, as was the case in Vermont before idiots in their legislature “fixed” a non-existent “problem” and raised it to 18. Oh, and Vermont was/is Permitless/Constitutional carry.

Last edited 9 months ago by Grigori