Michigan – -(Ammoland.com)-Q: I thought that my CPL was good for 5 years?
I just renewed my license and it looks like it expires after about 4 years.
A: MCL 28.425l specifies that renewal licenses expire between 4 and 5 years after issuance. The current law has your second, and all subsequent, CPLs expiring on your birthday at least 4 and not more than 5 years after issuance.
Another issue we've been hearing about lately is that some counties are “running behind” on processing applications. The statute allows for renewal application up to 6 months before your current license expires. It is recommended that you apply at least 60 days before your current license expires. This is because of the language in the section cited above that states:
“(4) The concealed weapon licensing board shall issue or deny issuance of a renewal license within 60 days after the application for renewal is properly submitted. The county clerk shall issue the applicant a receipt for his or her renewal application at the time the application is submitted. The receipt shall contain all of the following:
(a) The name of the applicant.
(b) The date and time the receipt is issued.
(c) The amount paid.
(d) A statement that the receipt is for a license renewal.
(e) A statement of whether the applicant qualifies for an extension under subsection (5).
(f) The name of the county in which the receipt is issued.
(g) An impression of the county seal.
(5) If the concealed weapon licensing board fails to deny or issue a renewal license to the person within 60 days as required under subsection (4), the expiration date of the current license is extended by 180 days or until the renewal license is issued, whichever occurs first. This subsection does not apply unless the person pays the renewal fee at the time the renewal application is submitted and the person has submitted a receipt from a police agency that confirms that a background check has been requested by the applicant.
(6) A person carrying a concealed pistol after the expiration date of his or her license pursuant to an extension under subsection (5) shall keep the receipt issued by the county clerk under subsection (4) and his or her expired license in his or her possession at all times that he or she is carrying the pistol. For the purposes of this act, the receipt is considered to be part of the license to carry a concealed pistol until a renewal license is issued or denied. Failing to have the receipt and expired license in possession while carrying a concealed pistol or failing to display the receipt to a peace officer upon request is a violation of this act.
The bolded portions show that early application (more than 60 days prior to expiration of the current license) guarantees that the licensee shall be continuously licensed for an additional 6 months without a lapse so long as all other requirements (continued eligibility, certifying time spent reviewing current law, etc.) are met.
Steve Dulan (www.StevenWDulan.com) is a member of the Board of Directors of the MCRGO and the MCRGO Foundation, and a member of the Board of Trustees of the MCRGO Foundation. He is an attorney in private practice in East Lansing and Adjunct Professor of firearms law at The Thomas M. Cooley Law School. as well as an Endowment Member of the NRA.
The Michigan Coalition for Responsible Gun Owners is a non-profit, non-partisan organization. Formed from just eight people in 1996, we now have thousands of members and numerous affiliated clubs across the state. We're growing larger and more effective every day.
Our mission statement is: “Promoting safe use and ownership of firearms through education, litigation, and legislation” Visit: www.mcrgo.org