Contact Utah Gov. Herbert, Ask Him To Sign the Concealed Weapon Carry Amendments

Utah Unloaded Gun
In Utah unloaded on a revolver means that the cartridges in the cylinder chambers are aligned so that the empty chambers’ alignment require the trigger to be pulled twice to fire the gun.
Utah Shooting Sports Council
Utah Shooting Sports Council

Utah –-(Ammoland.com)- Please contact Governor Herbert and ask him to sign HB 76 – Concealed Weapon Carry Amendments. (The first step towards permit-less carry)

  • Phone: 801-538-1000
  • Toll Free: 800-705-2464
  • Webmail: Governor Herbert Webmail

Governor's Office hours are: Monday-Friday, 8 a.m.-5 p.m

Thanks to all the gun owners who contacted legislators, HB 76 “Concealed Weapon Carry Amendments” passed in both the Utah House and Senate by strong margins. It now goes to the Governor, where it faces a possible veto.

Governor Herbert has indicated he is not in favor of this bill and may veto it. A newly revived anti-gun movement in Utah is mounting a full-court press to kill this bill. It is imperative that you contact the Governor’s office today and make your voice heard, because gun rights opponents are hard at work against you.

HB 76 is a good first step towards achieving “Constitutional Carry” or permit-less carry. Constitutional Carry would allow law-abiding citizens to conceal carry without a permit. Constitutional Carry would however retain Utah’s concealed carry permit system for those who want to have a permit to carry in other states.

Constitutional carry is not some crazy idea filled with unknown danger and promoting random gunfire. Vermont has had this forever, Alaska for 10 years, Arizona for 3 years and Wyoming for 2 years with ZERO problems. And, other states are considering adopting it too.

Despite media reports HB 76 is not true Constitutional Carry but it is the best that we could get passed this year. To understand what HB 76 does one needs to understand current Utah law on carrying without a permit.

Currently Utah law allows the open carrying of firearms without a permit if the gun is unloaded. Utah statute defines a gun as unloaded if a round is not in the firing position and it requires two actions to fire the gun. On a semi-automatic firearm that would mean there is no round in the chamber and firing would require racking the slide and pulling the trigger. On a revolver it would mean that cartridges in the cylinder chambers are aligned so that the empty chambers’ alignment require the trigger to be pulled twice to fire.

HB 76 would simply allow someone who is carrying an “unloaded” gun to conceal it.

Some might complain that this is a bad bill because it is not true Constitutional Carry or claim that some legislator sold out by not passing permit-less carry. This is not true. While the ability to cover up a previously opened carry gun, albeit one that required two actions to fire is a small thing, it is still a win for gun owners and it is an incremental step toward eventually achieving full Constitutional Carry.

Those legislators who supported this bill want Constitutional Carry as much as us but the reality of the matter was that such a bill was not going to pass this year. Our strategy is to win the long-term game and get it in pieces rather than get nothing at all. (You can score touchdowns with a series of small gains, just like you can with a single big play, and you have to work around whatever defense you opponents are putting up.)

When contacting the Governors office you may want to ease his mind on this bill by mentioning the following:

  • -This bill is not a drastic change in current law. It simply allows someone already legally carrying an unloaded gun to cover it up.
  • -It will still be illegal for felons and prohibited persons to possess or carry any firearm at all.
  • Persons legally carrying a concealed firearm under this bill will be unable to carry in schools (but those with concealed carry permits will still be allowed).
  • -This bill will not eliminate Utah’s concealed carry permit system.
  • -The bill only applies to persons 21 years of age or older.
  • -If you have been or plan to be a delegate at the state Republican convention you may want to mention this as well.

Hypothetical scare stories should be ignored as several other states have even less restrictive laws and a proven history that Constitutional Carry does not create any added problems. And, bad guys carry regardless of any laws, so this is only about restricting law abiding citizens.

If nothing else please call and e-mail the Governor Herbert’s office and simply ask that he sign HB 76 – Concealed Weapon Carry Amendments. Please allow law abiding citizens more choice in legal self defense options.

About:
The Utah Shooting Sports Council represents the citizens of Utah who safely and legally own and use firearms, exercising rights guaranteed under both the United States and Utah constitutions. Visit:www.utahshootingsports.com

  • 2
    Leave a Reply

    Please Login to comment
    2 Comment threads
    0 Thread replies
    0 Followers
     
    Most reacted comment
    Hottest comment thread
    2 Comment authors
    Wild BillBill Baker Recent comment authors
      Subscribe  
    Notify of
    Wild Bill
    Guest
    Wild Bill

    Look at those head stamps. Did they photograph that in a mirror or print the photo backwards?

    Bill Baker
    Guest
    Bill Baker

    My best friend lives in Utah, I phoned him and got him and at least 5-6 others I know in Utah to call the governor about this. Cross your fingers…