Friends of NRA Awards 2012 Volunteers of the Year

Friends of NRA
Friends of NRA

FAIRFAX, Va. –-( The National Rifle Association is pleased to name the 2012 Friends of NRA Volunteers of the Year.

Presented by Mill Pond Press, recipients were recognized for their outstanding impact on Friends of NRA, the grassroots fundraising program for The NRA Foundation, America’s leading charitable organization in support of the shooting sports.

“Volunteers are the backbone of most non-profit organizations and NRA volunteers are heads above the rest,” said Linda Schaner, President of Mill Pond Press. “We at Mill Pond are thrilled to be associated with Friends of NRA and honored to have taken part in recognizing these volunteers’ accomplishments.”

Each NRA Field Representative selected an Area Volunteer winner based on year-round efforts. Area Volunteers received a “2012 Friends of NRA Volunteer of the Year” jacket and special recognition from their NRA Field Representative. From the pool of Area Volunteers, a committee of senior NRA staff selected Region Volunteers of the Year who were honored and recognized May 2, at the National NRA Foundation Banquet during the 2013 NRA Annual Meetings & Exhibits in Houston, Texas.

“Friends of NRA volunteers spend countless hours selling tickets, recruiting sponsors, and setting up events,” said Sarah Budi, Director of Volunteer Fundraising. “They are the real testament to the success of the fundraising program and we are grateful for their time protecting and promoting the shooting sports for future generations.”

The 2012 Friends of NRA Region and Area award winners and their committees are listed below:

Region Volunteers of the Year:

  • Eastern Region: West Virginia and Western Virginia: William Shank, Midland Trail
  • Central Region: Missouri: Tim Heuiser, South East Missouri
  • Mid West Region: Colorado: Patty Cattoor, Colorado State and Black Canyon
  • Southern Region: Florida (Southern): Gary and Pat Graef, Greater Ft. Myers and Charlotte Harbor
  • Western Region: Nevada: John Madden, Reno/Sparks and Modesto

Area Volunteers of the Year:

Eastern Region:

  • Connecticut, Massachusetts, New Jersey, New York (Lower) and Rhode Island: Stan Pascoo, Hudson Valley
  • Delaware and Pennsylvania (Eastern): Charlie Fox, Bradford Area
  • Maine, New Hampshire, and Vermont: Elizabeth Elliott, New Hampshire Seacoast
  • New York (Upper): Paul Lendvay, Catskill Region
  • North Carolina (Eastern): Elvie Jackson, Greater Triangle
  • North Carolina (Western): George and Shirley Pullman, Western North Carolina
  • Ohio (Northern): Todd Figard, North East Ohio
  • Ohio (Southern): Donald Pagath, Zanesville Area
  • Pennsylvania (Western): William Tylavsky, PA’s 1st
  • Virginia (Eastern) and Washington, D.C.: Hugh Crittenden, Greater Richmond

Central Region:

  • Illinois (Northern): Christina Cira, East Central Illinois
  • Illinois (Southern): Veron Auld, Perry/Randolf
  • Indiana: Richard “Dick” Hacker, Hendricks County
  • Iowa: Bobby Meyer, North Iowa
  • Kentucky: Scott Smith, Big Rivers
  • Michigan: Robert Haviland, WWCCA
  • Nebraska: Tim Gray, High Plains
  • Tennessee: Butch Rhea, Fayette County
  • Wisconsin: Kellie Walsh, State Line

Mid West Region:

  • Kansas: Doug King, Butler County
  • Minnesota: James Kelley, Itasca County
  • Montana: John Shevlin, Central Montana and North Central Montana
  • New Mexico: Jeanie Otis, San Juan
  • North Dakota: Scott Bachmeier, Southwest
  • South Dakota: Doug DeLaRoi, Northern Oahe
  • Oklahoma: Jimmy Hawk, Cherokee Strip
  • Utah: Monte Smith, Ogden
  • Wyoming: Laura Milne, Casper

Southern Region:

  • Alabama: Mike Parsons, Huntsville
  • Arkansas: Jeff Eddy, Independence
  • Florida (Northern): Patty Galyean, Suwannee River
  • Georgia: Doug Hollberg, Sr, Central Georgia
  • Louisiana: Lori & Marcell Parker, Florida Parishes
  • Mississippi: David Goode, DeSoto County
  • South Carolina: Charles Johnson, Lexington
  • Texas (Northern): John Capps, Ellis and Barnett Shale
  • Texas (Southern): Carol Hester, Alamo
  • Texas (West): Robin Dawson, Texas Panhandle

Western Region:

  • Alaska (Northern): Steve Smith, Nome
  • Alaska (Southern): Jodee Kuden, Alaska State
  • Arizona: Hugh Winderweedle, White Mountain
  • California (Central): Noel Ryan, Paso Robles
  • California (Mid): Dan Weare, Exeter and Tulare
  • California (North Eastern): Barry Blaylock, Tuolumne County
  • California (North Western): Michael Amato, Livermore/Pleasanton
  • California (Southern): Dennis Kee, SoCal Gun-O-Rama, South OC, San Gabriel Valley, Metro OC
  • Hawaii and Oregon: Mike Fitz, Portland
  • Idaho: Rich and Trudy Jackson, Treasure Valley
  • Washington: Richard “Rick” Crawford, Kittitas County