Westmoreland County, VA Makes Bizarre Demand On CHP Applicants

Virginia Citizens Defense League
Virginia Citizens Defense League

Covington VA –-(Ammoland.com)- Turns out that Westmoreland County has had a bizarre requirement for permit holders, that goes all the way back to at least 1995.

When the County sends a CHP applicant his permit, they have also been sending two other documents: the judge's order authorizing the permit's issuance and another letter ordering the CHP holder to “carry both (Order and permit) with you at all times.”

VCDL member William Martin was stunned when he read that letter and contacted the Circuit Court Clerk's office about it. Everyone seemed to be denying they had anything to do with that letter.

“I called the Circuit Court Clerk's office on October 25th and Deputy Clerk Betty Horner acknowledge the letter, saying it was a mistake and that letter is no longer being sent to CHP applicants. She said in the all the years that letter has been going out, Mr. Martin was the first person to complain about it.”

Her comment points out why it's important to challenge extra legal requirements levied by localities: they are not legal and will continue as long as the population acts like sheep and accepts whatever they are told.

So, if you got such a letter from Westmoreland County, just disregard it. All you need to carry is your CHP whenever you are carrying a concealed sidearm.

About:
Virginia Citizens Defense League, Inc. (VCDL). VCDL is an all-volunteer, non-partisan grassroots organization dedicated to defending the human rights of all Virginians. The Right to Keep and Bear Arms is a fundamental human right. Visit: www.vcdl.org

  • 3
    Leave a Reply

    Please Login to comment
    3 Comment threads
    0 Thread replies
    0 Followers
     
    Most reacted comment
    Hottest comment thread
    3 Comment authors
    GregTampico RedJamesB Recent comment authors
      Subscribe  
    Notify of
    Greg
    Guest
    Greg

    I had an issue with Goochland when I renewed, they went well past the 45 day max. When I call the clerk she said well no one ever complained before. Once I explained the law it still took another 10 days. What is the law worth when those charged with enforcing it exempt themselves?

    Tampico Red
    Guest
    Tampico Red

    Good job, VCDL. We don't need special requirements. That said, I like the judges order. Why have a "permission slip" from state government, and not carry all the time. I know I do, even in my home, here in AZ.

    JamesB
    Guest
    JamesB

    I've heard the 'you're the only person to complain…' line before and it isn't always true.

    Sometimes the person is just not aware of other complaints, but most of the time it's just push-back from someone who doesn't even get why you're complaining or who doesn't agree with you on what you're complaining about (even if they understand the why of it).

    Either way, it's sloppy and is a policy failure of the relevant entity and should be taken with a grain of salt.

    Never be afraid to speak up, even if you happen to be the first one to do so…