Lansing, MI -(AmmoLand.com)- If you find yourself past the 10 day window to submit your pistol registration, and you believe your local jurisdiction will fine you for turning the paperwork in late, you should consider the consequences of incriminating yourself by turning the paperwork in late vs. not turning in the registration paperwork at all.
For those who are not exempt from registration, Michigan law requires you to return the registration copy of a “Purchase Permit” (RI-010) or Pistol Sales Record (RI-060) to the police within 10 days of purchase, or face a $250 civil infraction. While this has been the law for many years, fines for late submissions have been very rare – the idea being that the individual is seen as trying to do the right thing, and agencies would rather have the paperwork turned in late rather than never.
However, lately we have received reports that some jurisdictions are issuing the civil infraction to individuals turning in their paperwork late, thus removing any incentive.
It is important to understand that there is no provision in Michigan law for turning in a registration receipt late. Once the 10 day window passes, the door has closed on avoiding responsibility for the infraction. In other words, turning it in late does not absolve you of a $250 fine. In fact, turning it in late is just as illegal as never turning it in, as many gun owners are finding out the hard way. Put more bluntly, turning in a receipt past the 10 day window is self-incrimination, and many agencies are taking advantage of the opportunity for “easy money”.
Further, it is also important to understand that as of January 7, 2009, there is no longer any penalty for possessing a pistol that has not been submitted for a “safety inspection” (read registered). Therefore, it is not a crime to possess an unregistered pistol as long as the pistol was purchased or acquired lawfully in compliance with MCL 28.422 (2). Thus, THERE IS NO PENALTY BEYOND THE $250 LATE FINE FOR NOT SENDING IN YOUR PAPERWORK.
To be clear, we are not advocating breaking the law. Rather, we are pointing out that agencies who are issuing these citations have created an environment where there is no incentive to comply outside of the 10 day window since there is no difference between turning in the registration receipt on day 11 vs. never turning it in, from a penalty perspective.
If you would like more information, please contact the Legislative Team for Michigan Open Carry, Inc. at [email protected].
If you would like to view this advisory as a PDF, we have made a copy available HERE.
About Michigan Open Carry, Inc:
Michigan Open Carry, Inc is a Not-For-Profit organization that depends on our dues paying members to continue our operation. We are an all-volunteer organization. As such, no one is paid a salary and very few of the personal expenses of our officers are reimbursed. Won't you consider joining us or renewing as a dues paying member today?
If you need technical help with the process, please email [email protected].